Slow Cooker Lentils and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This is the first time I have ever eaten lentils and they are really good! I did add a little parmesan and salsa to my bowl to add some flavor and I also used rotel as other people did! A great healthy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McDougale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I made this for the first time last night and loved it! I made a few changes...I didn't have celery, so I doubled the carrots. I also added half of a chopped onion, used hot sausage, a chopped jalapeno and a can of diced tomatoes with chilies for the perfect amount of kick. Super easy and economical! I think this stew may have become a staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I used chili ready tomatoes, added oregano, basil, chili powder, minced garlic,bay leaves, and red pepper flakes. It was delish!!! This will be made again in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was very tasty--but I, like others, added some stuff I think really helped boost the flavor. I started with sauteeing a whole onion, 3 carrots and some celery, about 3 cloves garlic. Then added the lentils, a little thyme, and used veggie broth and water. Added in Rotel tomatoes close to the end. I did mine in the stovetop and it took less than 40 minutes. I also used soy chorizo as the 'sausage'. It was excellent. Served mine over brown rice. Really really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbcam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Wish I could give 3.5 stars. Cooked it as printed. Should have used a large size crockpot, it lifted the lid on my regular one after four hours. Also recommend using high grade of polish sausage for better results. Like the flavor and will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
It was just ok. Nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quinton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Nice basic recipe that's easy to put together. Will definitely make this again. I added onion and garlic based on other reviews (though probably would have added them anyway as we love onion and put it in almost everything) and used turkey kielbasa. The beef broth and kielbasa season it perfectly that it doesn't need any additional salt. My picky family member who doesn't like spice loved it and I found it quite good as well, though would maybe sprinkle a couple drops of hot sauce or some Aleppo pepper flakes in my own portion. Three hours on high in my crock didn't seem to cut it though and I had to cook it for about five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I changed a few things- used sirloin tip, added 3 stalks celery, 3 chopped carrots, half a red onion, and various spices. Next time- remember to add garlic, and some hot sauce. Added tomatoes with 2 hours left to cook, took 6 hours total on high (slow cooker)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Fabulous! Added Rotel tomatoes in place of diced tomatoes during the last 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Wholesome ! Delicious . A complete meal lunch or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States