Slow Cooker Lentils and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
my wife adds a cinnamon stick to this. It's good any way you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Apparently nine hours on low is too long to cook this... I started it before I left for work and did not get home as early as I had hoped. It ended up pretty mushy; it kind of looked like refried beans to me. I browned the turkey sausage and added it with the tomatoes when I got home, then turned the crock pot to warm for the 20 minutes before we ate. To me a crock pot recipe is only beneficial when I can turn it on before I go to work and enjoy the meal when I get home. This recipe does not fit that description. I do like how healthy and economical it is, but I probably won't make it again. I will stick to the Beefy Lentil Vegetable Soup from this site (which I HIGHLY recommend) to get my lentil fix :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I've never been able to get my lentils to soften. Finally read other sites that said hard water and acidity (i.e. tomoatoes) can affect the cooking. After 3 hrs & still crunchy lentils, I dissolved 1/2 tsp of baking soda in a bit of water & threw it in the pot. Then put it on low for another 30 mins. FINALLY! YUMMY, COOKED, SOFT LENTILS! But they cooked FAST in that extra 30 mins. Not sure what will happen if I put it in from the get-go though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was good but I expected it to be thicker. It was like a stew for sure. To make it healthier, I used turkey kielbasa and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Excellent! When I was an exchange student in Spain, my host-mom made a similar dish all the time. I did add an onion, lots of extra carrots, 1 tsp of cumin, and pepper. I just used one package of the "ring sausage" you can find in the meat section of the grocery store. Super easy, super cheap, super good. My 22-month-old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I liked this! I didn't use the exact measurements, though so my rating might not be too accurate. I used less sausage, less water, more celery and carrots and I added onion and seasoning. It came out thicker and more chili-like which I enjoyed. Next time I will use more liquid and see if I like it more soupy. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was really good. Used small brown lentils, added onion and garlic and only used one pound of the sausage that was the chicken hardwood smoked kind by Hillshire Farm. I also did not drain the tomatoes. It cooked for almost 11 hours on low and was perfect; the lentils held their shape but were cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I thought that this had good taste but I was expecting something a little thicker, for some reason it turned out a little more like soup. Next time I make this I am going to try omitting the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GremlinQueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jordan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Delicious! I made this with chicken broth and turkey kielbasa and mushrooms, but used the measurements. We have enjoyed it all week and have a few servings to freeze for easy dinners. Great for packed lunch, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Very good, increased the spice as I always do and used Turkey sausage. Worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grays, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Moseley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States