Slow Cooker Lentils and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was good but I expected it to be thicker. It was like a stew for sure. To make it healthier, I used turkey kielbasa and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Excellent! When I was an exchange student in Spain, my host-mom made a similar dish all the time. I did add an onion, lots of extra carrots, 1 tsp of cumin, and pepper. I just used one package of the "ring sausage" you can find in the meat section of the grocery store. Super easy, super cheap, super good. My 22-month-old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I liked this! I didn't use the exact measurements, though so my rating might not be too accurate. I used less sausage, less water, more celery and carrots and I added onion and seasoning. It came out thicker and more chili-like which I enjoyed. Next time I will use more liquid and see if I like it more soupy. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was really good. Used small brown lentils, added onion and garlic and only used one pound of the sausage that was the chicken hardwood smoked kind by Hillshire Farm. I also did not drain the tomatoes. It cooked for almost 11 hours on low and was perfect; the lentils held their shape but were cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I thought that this had good taste but I was expecting something a little thicker, for some reason it turned out a little more like soup. Next time I make this I am going to try omitting the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GremlinQueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jordan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Delicious! I made this with chicken broth and turkey kielbasa and mushrooms, but used the measurements. We have enjoyed it all week and have a few servings to freeze for easy dinners. Great for packed lunch, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Very good, increased the spice as I always do and used Turkey sausage. Worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grays, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Moseley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Delicious! Like others I made a few adjustments: added onion, a can of rotel, and some spices like Cajun seasoning. I also doubled the amount of carrots and celery. My husband, who claimed he didn't like lentils, had three helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aileen
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I had to change a little since I did not have polish sausage I used Pork sausage and fried it up like you would do Hamburger added to all your ingredients then added a whole onion chopped and 3 minced garlic cloves and 1/3 red bell pepper. Instead of beef broth again I supplemented with Chicken broth and only 2 cups of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camino, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Amazing!! made it last night and a BIG hit! I omitted the tomatoes, and added more spices to it. It was delish! I cooked it on low for 6 hours in the crock pot. I did need more water half way through, maybe because I didn't use the beef broth? Either way it came out great. Highly Recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denisse2090

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States