Slow Cooker Lentils and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Considering this recipe was my first attempt at making lentils, the experience was just ok. I probably wouldn't make the recipe again. Maybe I've discovered I just don't like lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psi1497

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Great tasting - would use smoked sausage next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I made this for my husband, who gave it a 4 out of 5 stars. I modified the recipe slightly. I added onion and I browned that up with the sausage before adding to the crockpot. I didn't actually try the soup myself (I don't like lentils) but I have to say it smelled terrific as it cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I made this using Puy (French green) lentils, which really hold their shape and do not turn mushy. I followed the recipe fairly closely but I didn't have any kielbasa on hand so I used up some vegetables I had hanging round - eggplant and zucchini cut into large chunks, lots of garlic, and a couple of teaspoons of Cajun jerk seasoning. I wound up cooking the lentils longer (the salt actually slows down the softening process). It was pretty good on the first night, but the leftovers were much better on the second and third day. Like chili, I think this dish really benefits from 24 hours in the fridge. I reheated on the stove the next evening with the kielbasa in and it was excellent. I had enough left over for lunch and my work colleagues all agreed that it smelled delicious. I will definitely make this again, though I may try it with chorizo, red wine, thyme and bay leaves instead of kielbasa and Cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
With the extra spices such as cumin , Adobo, and pepper (as well as the onion, garlic and more carrots), it turned out to be very savory and nice! My friend described it as "hearty and flavorful" and it was wonderful to wake up to the aroma. I would definitely make it again, especially since it scored me some points with my friend. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan S.
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This was really yummy but I admit I was one of the minority. You do have to like lentils, which I do, but my family really doesn't. It's very very easy to prepare. I substituted 2 cans of condensed beef broth and added another cup of water to the recipe. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Was very good but the lentils could have cooked a little more. I cooked them for 7 hours on low. My husband, however, loved it. Will make again but cook the lentils longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesquite, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I added onions and garlic like some of other people suggested but could only fit half the kielbasa called for in my slow cooker. Even with only half, it still made it very greasy. Would've been better w/ crusty bread on the side. Taste was just ok but it was very filling and very cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I made a few modifications: I only used one pound of sausage and I added three cloves of garlic, an onion and about 2 teaspoons of dried thyme. It turned out really well, but the lentils could have been cooked longer (I cooked them for 6 1/2 hours on low). We ate it with some crusty bread and red wine. Yum! It makes a TON of stew, so I will cut the recipe in half next time. It makes a great lunch to take to work. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMichal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
I have to say, for my first try at making lentils, it was pretty darn easy thanks to this recipe! I did nothing different other than to use only 2 cups of water. Salt and peppered to taste. Thanks for a great recipe to keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coudersport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States