Slow Cooker Lentils and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I added onions and garlic like some of other people suggested but could only fit half the kielbasa called for in my slow cooker. Even with only half, it still made it very greasy. Would've been better w/ crusty bread on the side. Taste was just ok but it was very filling and very cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I made a few modifications: I only used one pound of sausage and I added three cloves of garlic, an onion and about 2 teaspoons of dried thyme. It turned out really well, but the lentils could have been cooked longer (I cooked them for 6 1/2 hours on low). We ate it with some crusty bread and red wine. Yum! It makes a TON of stew, so I will cut the recipe in half next time. It makes a great lunch to take to work. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMichal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
I have to say, for my first try at making lentils, it was pretty darn easy thanks to this recipe! I did nothing different other than to use only 2 cups of water. Salt and peppered to taste. Thanks for a great recipe to keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coudersport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Good recipe. I will make this again. I used chicken broth because that's what I had in my pantry. I also added a lot more carrots because I love them in this sort of recipe. I served this with cornbread and hot sauce on the side. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This was very good. I added some cayanne pepper and cajun seasoning for taste. It tasted similar to spilt pea soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Wonderful! And Cheap too! I used diced Rotel tomatoes (extra spicy) plus I put in a couple of diced potatoes. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lainie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This turned out really well. My fiance absolutely loved it. In addition to adding onions and garlic as other poster suggested, I also added some ground cumin and a touch of tabasco. The cumin really made a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
My whole family thought this was really tasty. I added the tomatoes after a few hours of cooking on high like recommended and the lentils cooked through fine. I also added onions and garlic and used chicken broth instead of beef. Very, very good flavor. As far as the looks go, anyone used to eating lentils knows that they're not the prettiest things but taste great! I made a salad and garlic bread on the side and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Great 'comfort food', very easy to make. The only change I would make would be to add potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I love lentils and was looking for a little something different to do with them when I happened upon this recipe. Well, lets just say I could not keep my husband from dipping into the crock pot over and over again before it was time for dinner. This was really wonderful! I did make two changes though. Instead of using plain diced tomatoes, I used diced tomatoes with green chilis. I also chopped up a small onion and put it into the mix. I gave this recipe 5 stars because I think it would have been wonderful without the changes I made, we just like our food with a little bit of a "bite" to it. Not only was this meal yummy, but very economical as well. I served with warm crusty bread and a big salad and I was able to feed my family of 5 for under $10.00, with leftovers to boot. Thank you so much, I will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States