Slow Cooker Lentils and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This wasn't me or my husbands cup of tea but my toddler loved it (I made it really for him because he loves lentils). I used green lentils and pork sausagemeat (which I browned before I added it to the crock pot) as polish sausage is hard to come by in my neck of the woods. Not enough veggies I thought either. I will be making this for my toddler again but I will scale down the recipe, use more veggies and will use split red lentils instead of green lentils - they just taste nicer, cook quicker and work better in casserole type recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
We enjoyed this very much! I used French green lentils, only 1 lb. of (turkey) kielbasa and reduced the water by 1c. The results were delicious. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was really delicious! This has defintely made its way into our dinner rotation. I have tried different lentil recipes with ham, and by far the sausage makes a difference. What an easy dinner to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I had never tried Lentils before until I made this recipe. It turned out very good, and I used super spicy sausage to give it a kick. This recipe is so easy...just throw all your ingredients in the slow cooker before work and it's ready when you get home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
An absolutely delicious recipe. I used Italian sausage (cooked and sliced) instead of kielbasa, added some chopped onion and a few cloves of garlic while I browned the sausage, upped the carrots, tossed in two diced potatoes and added bouillion to the water. It cooked MUCH faster than the recipe stated - the lentils were tender after about 4 hours on low (when I added tomato sauce instead of tomatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This is a really great recipe for those who love lentils. It took a little longer than 3 hours in my slow cooker on high, but its still great! We usually add garlic, potatoes, onion, carrots and a dash of chili powder in addition to the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellford, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Clemson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Considering this recipe was my first attempt at making lentils, the experience was just ok. I probably wouldn't make the recipe again. Maybe I've discovered I just don't like lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psi1497

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Great tasting - would use smoked sausage next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I made this for my husband, who gave it a 4 out of 5 stars. I modified the recipe slightly. I added onion and I browned that up with the sausage before adding to the crockpot. I didn't actually try the soup myself (I don't like lentils) but I have to say it smelled terrific as it cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I made this using Puy (French green) lentils, which really hold their shape and do not turn mushy. I followed the recipe fairly closely but I didn't have any kielbasa on hand so I used up some vegetables I had hanging round - eggplant and zucchini cut into large chunks, lots of garlic, and a couple of teaspoons of Cajun jerk seasoning. I wound up cooking the lentils longer (the salt actually slows down the softening process). It was pretty good on the first night, but the leftovers were much better on the second and third day. Like chili, I think this dish really benefits from 24 hours in the fridge. I reheated on the stove the next evening with the kielbasa in and it was excellent. I had enough left over for lunch and my work colleagues all agreed that it smelled delicious. I will definitely make this again, though I may try it with chorizo, red wine, thyme and bay leaves instead of kielbasa and Cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States