Slow Cooker Lentils and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
LOVED IT!!!! Added cumin, added tomatoe at the end. Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I made a couple of changes to the original recipe. I used turkey kielbasa and added one small onion and 3 cloves of garlic. I also used 3 carrots and 3 staks of celery instead of just one of each. I had to cook it an extra 2 hours since the lentils weren't quite done but that's OK with me because it would have been done much too early otherwise. I thought it was OK but a tad bit lacking the first night although it was alot better as leftovers. My friend and her 3 year old really old liked it, although my 3 year old was less than excited. I'll try it again but I'd like to add one more carrot and another can of tomatoes (can't have too many veggies in my opinion). I'll also add couple more cloves of garlic and a bay leaf for flavor. Thyme might be a nice addition, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I felt that it needed more veggies, so I cut up 2 potatoes, and 1 large onion, diced. I also got the stuff going in the crock pot before I went to work, and when I got home I dumped the tomatoes in and it was ready by the time I got the table set. Thanks For sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Sand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Swansea, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
As other reviewers said, this smells great while cooking. I'm so glad I tried this again today after reading about waiting on the diced tomatoes. The first time I tried it my lentils were almost crunchy, I guess b/c I put the tomatos in at the beginning and it prolonged cooking time. I waited until the end today and they were perfect. My children had eaten the carrots, but it was great without them. I put in a diced onion and some garlic. Even using the mild diced tomatos and chilis, it had a little kick. I thought it was great, but my kids kind of whined. I will make this again, especially on cold/rainy days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YvetteT3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This was delicious and very satisfying. Perfect for freezing winter nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I've made this several times changing it with whatever I have on hand. I made a vegan version today! I used one package of Trader Joe's meatless meatballs instead of the sausage. I microwave them about one minute to make them soft enough to cut in half and then put them in with everything else. I used vegetable broth instead of beef. The meatballs have so much flavor it didn't seem to matter. I used canned tomatoes and carrots but didn't drain them as I usually don't have enough liquid. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This wasn't me or my husbands cup of tea but my toddler loved it (I made it really for him because he loves lentils). I used green lentils and pork sausagemeat (which I browned before I added it to the crock pot) as polish sausage is hard to come by in my neck of the woods. Not enough veggies I thought either. I will be making this for my toddler again but I will scale down the recipe, use more veggies and will use split red lentils instead of green lentils - they just taste nicer, cook quicker and work better in casserole type recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
We enjoyed this very much! I used French green lentils, only 1 lb. of (turkey) kielbasa and reduced the water by 1c. The results were delicious. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was really delicious! This has defintely made its way into our dinner rotation. I have tried different lentil recipes with ham, and by far the sausage makes a difference. What an easy dinner to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I had never tried Lentils before until I made this recipe. It turned out very good, and I used super spicy sausage to give it a kick. This recipe is so easy...just throw all your ingredients in the slow cooker before work and it's ready when you get home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States