Slow Cooker Lentils and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This is fantastic. I make two changes; I don't drain the tomatoes, and I add a bay leaf or two. It tastes great with some Grade B maple syrup over the top when you serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mittens

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I made this without the meat and added 1 tsp. curry powder; 1 tsp. chili powder and 1 tbsp. of italian seasoning--- loved it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: St. Marys, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I think I must not be a "lentil person." I had this one night with hubby kids and brother and sister in law. Brother in law really raved--said it tasted just like a lentil soup he gets at Carrabas. Hubby liked it---but he likes anything. Sis in law liked it---but was she being polite??? Kids only ate the sausge out of it. As for me...not my cup of tea, but I think the recipe was a good one and very solid. I'm just not a lentil person, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Definitely pile on the veggies and it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Pretty good recipe - my husband and I both liked it. My son wasn't so crazy about all the tomatos, so maybe next time I'll cut the amount in half. Very tasty and easy to prepare. Great on a chilly night with some biscuits or cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I wish I liked this more...the lentils came out very "starchy". I did rinse them well, it was just way too thick for me. My husband liked it, however. I did add 3 chopped carrots instead of 1 and 2 large chopped celery stalks instead of 1, just for some variety. I don't know if I will make it again. If I do, I'll cut the lentils down and just use 3/4 of a lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tarainga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Very Good. Our family really likes this. I made this for my brother and wife who are a little "skeptical". They liked it. Easy to prepare and tasty on a cold night. I make cornbread with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I have been curious about lentils for a while because they are so healthy, and this was my first try cooking them. The ingredients were pretty basic and inexpensive, and the other reviews were so right when they said it smells great cooking. This would be a great dish to put in the crockpot in the morning and leave to cook all day while you're at work. True, it tastes better the second day. Seems like it would freeze well, so make a big batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reese, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
LOVED IT!!!! Added cumin, added tomatoe at the end. Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I made a couple of changes to the original recipe. I used turkey kielbasa and added one small onion and 3 cloves of garlic. I also used 3 carrots and 3 staks of celery instead of just one of each. I had to cook it an extra 2 hours since the lentils weren't quite done but that's OK with me because it would have been done much too early otherwise. I thought it was OK but a tad bit lacking the first night although it was alot better as leftovers. My friend and her 3 year old really old liked it, although my 3 year old was less than excited. I'll try it again but I'd like to add one more carrot and another can of tomatoes (can't have too many veggies in my opinion). I'll also add couple more cloves of garlic and a bay leaf for flavor. Thyme might be a nice addition, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States