Slow Cooker Lentils and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I thought it was very good but I made some changes. I sauteed onions and garlic before putting them in the crockpot. I also used chicken stock that I had in the freezer which already had some latin spices in it. Finally, I used Spanich Chorizo in place of polish sausage. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Great recipe, but be sure to set the temperature on your cooker high enough to keep the liquid slightly boiling (my cooker doesn't have low and high but temp settings). Even though this cooked for 10 hours while I was at work, lentils still were not completely cooked. Bringing things up to a rolling boil for about 30 minutes finished things off nicely, though. Family loved this dish, perfect for days when it's a little cold out. Will definitely be putting this into regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I thought this was a very good recipe. I left out the celery b/c I didn't have any and added garlic powder and kosher salt. This was my first time cooking with lentils and I was pleased with this recipe. Something weird, my sausage turned purple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
It was delicious. I doubled up on the sausage and broth (subtracting an equal amount of water). I also added a tablespoon of honey to sweeten up the tomatoes since they can taste a little bitter. I also added a couple of splashes of hot sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Very flavorful and satisfying. I really enjoyed. Unfortunately the rest of the family was put off by the typical cooked lentil "grey glop" look and wouldn't even taste it. (They're only 5-9) I'll make it again, if only for myself ;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Cason Rowe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Vale, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I liked this recipe but waited and browned my sausage and then added it with one hour left to the slow cooker. I liked it better this way my sausage was not mushy. Good flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This was excellent. My whole family loved it and was asking for more. I did add extra carrots and celery and added pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I used gross tasting sausage so, blah. Took a few hours on high. Changes: 4 c lentils, 1 can tomato paste, 2 cubes beef broth, 8 c water, 2 carots, 1 cup sausage, 2 celery, added 1 tbsp red pepper, cilantro. Forgot to add 1 tsp salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I had no kielbasa, so I put Chorizo in the dish and it tasts wonderful. What a great dish! I never had lentils before, but I wanted to try them. Never found a recipe that truly appealed to me. I used fresh tomatoes. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Van de Moortele

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
5 stars from me, 4 from fam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States