Slow Cooker Lentils and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Turned out great. I was concerned early on when I sampled it, seemed really salty. But the flavor really pulled together everyone like it. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is an easy, tasty, fairly nutritious meal my whole family enjoyed. I added a large chopped onion and a minced clove of garlic. Didn't have celery on hand so used 3 carrots cut into large chunks. Put everything except tomatoes into the crock pot and cooked on high for 2.5 hours, then added tomatoes and cooked on high for another hour. It came out perfect. Kids liked a little dollop of sour cream on theirs. Served with crusty bread and salad. A great busy-day meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Delicious - my husband really enjoyed. It did take far longer for the lentils to cook than specified - next time, I will cook the lentils overnight and then add the beef. Excellent recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I started putting water in before I realized I didn't have enough lentils so I added more carrots and a can of new potatoes so it wouldn't be watery. With the additions it was wonderful. I only give it a four because without the extra veggies there wouldn't have been enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This recipe is THE BEST per my husband's rating scale - says he could eat this 3 times a day. We use whatever variety of sausage we're in the mood for - each adds its own flavor. We also add a little garlic or garlic powder. Excellent and Easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Very good. These are the changes I made: doubled carrot and celery, also added 1/2 cup chopped onion and 2 cloves garlic. Used chicken broth instead of beef. Used Rotel tomatoes with chilis instead of diced tomatoes, not drained. Used Hillshire Farm Spicy Sausage instead of Kielbasa (we prefer our food spicy). Cooked on high in slow cooker for 4 hours. Had to add another 1.5-2 cups of broth when done because it was too thick. Also, lentils were a little softer than I like...I'll try cooking on low next time. Served with cornbread and Tabasco sauce for even more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hinman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Wonderful and CHEAP ! What a great recipe, I added garlic and more veggies and some tomatoe sauce and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This was really good. My lentils didn't cook all the way..even after 7 hours in the slow cooker. But I threw them on the stove for a few min. and they were done in a jiff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABromund

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I thought it was very good but I made some changes. I sauteed onions and garlic before putting them in the crockpot. I also used chicken stock that I had in the freezer which already had some latin spices in it. Finally, I used Spanich Chorizo in place of polish sausage. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Great recipe, but be sure to set the temperature on your cooker high enough to keep the liquid slightly boiling (my cooker doesn't have low and high but temp settings). Even though this cooked for 10 hours while I was at work, lentils still were not completely cooked. Bringing things up to a rolling boil for about 30 minutes finished things off nicely, though. Family loved this dish, perfect for days when it's a little cold out. Will definitely be putting this into regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States