Slow Cooker Lentil Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I agree with another poster, this was my lesson in "don't decide to try a new recipe without reading the reviews first." I followed directions and only after a couple hours this "soup" was an oatmeal dinner. It did give me and my husband a GOOD laugh, though! Needless to say, a frozen pizza made its way into the oven....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Doubled up on garlic, celery, carrots. Used a combo veggie broth and chicken in lieu of water. Also used diced tomatoes. This was a great recipe and my thought is you can't screw this up starting with the base recipe and doing what pleases you. THANK YOU for a great soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
As so many others stated, the liquid proportions are way off to call this a soup.(Perhaps a typo??) However, I am still giving it a four star rating, because the flavor is just what I was looking for. Having to add extra broth (which I chose over water) was no big deal. I would have liked more spices, but I was serving this to children and needed to keep it more bland. For those liking a spicier lentil soup, you will want to add a few of your favorite spices. I did not add mushrooms, once again, because I was serving this to children. I will definitely be making this again, just knowing I will add much more broth. Actually I think I will use one cup rice and one cup lentils and then go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Was very good for the first night. After refrigerating over night it turned into mush. I would suggest to add more vegetable broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I cut the lentils and rice down to 1 cup each based on previous reviews. However, it was still too thick for a soup. I was disappointed in the taste of this recipe, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Used 12 cups of vegetable broth instead of 8 water/1 broth. I cooked it for 4 hours. Turned out thicker, like a stew, I love the combo of the lentils and the chewy rice. Very easy, and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegetarianforllife
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
There must be a mistake in the ingredients. This was very dry and totally filled up the crock pot when it was finished - way MORE than 11 servings. If I make this again, I will cut the dry lentils and the brown rice down to 1 cup each. It is a good recipe for someone on a vegetarian diet and it was very easy to make. I may try it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
hearty and interesting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Really quick to make, Really easy. You can't beat Easy Vegan that even my Meat-Eaten Family REALLY liked. Did add about 4 or 5 more cups of water and it only needed to be cooked on low for 4-5 hours. Stuck to the recipie except used short grain brown rice. Would have trippled the veggies, though. Next time I will add different veggies such as Bell Pepper, Califlower, leeks, and anything else I can find. Will Totally do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was not soup..it was a more a clump of rice and lentils. Due to the lack of liquid the lentils didn't cook completely. I also think it was pretty tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States