Slow Cooker Lentil Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
No stars! As has been stated before, this was very disappointing! I had to add more water and broth AND more seasonings! Very bland. Next time I will try it with 1 cup of rice and LOTS of seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is not a "soup" but I wasn't looking for one and knew by the water ratio it wasn't going to be. I loved the flavor and will definately make this often. I used extra vegetables, and skipped the mushrooms as none were on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Doubled up on garlic, celery, carrots. Used a combo veggie broth and chicken in lieu of water. Also used diced tomatoes. This was a great recipe and my thought is you can't screw this up starting with the base recipe and doing what pleases you. THANK YOU for a great soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I make something very similar to this but I do find that I have to periodically add water. I use 1 cup lentils, and 1 cup brown rice and 4-6 cups water. It's also good with cumin, chili powder and garlic salt(to flavor) and used as a vegetarian burrito filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2000
Super easy and tasty. My kids are not big fans of beans, but they gobbled it up without mentioning the lentils. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
I prefer to soak the lentils in water overnight and set the crockpot on high for aobut half of the cook time. (We like them very soft.) Also, try part wild rice in this recipe--it adds lots of flavor!! Very hearty and makes a huge batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Really quick to make, Really easy. You can't beat Easy Vegan that even my Meat-Eaten Family REALLY liked. Did add about 4 or 5 more cups of water and it only needed to be cooked on low for 4-5 hours. Stuck to the recipie except used short grain brown rice. Would have trippled the veggies, though. Next time I will add different veggies such as Bell Pepper, Califlower, leeks, and anything else I can find. Will Totally do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Used 12 cups of vegetable broth instead of 8 water/1 broth. I cooked it for 4 hours. Turned out thicker, like a stew, I love the combo of the lentils and the chewy rice. Very easy, and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegetarianforllife
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Was very good for the first night. After refrigerating over night it turned into mush. I would suggest to add more vegetable broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
As so many others stated, the liquid proportions are way off to call this a soup.(Perhaps a typo??) However, I am still giving it a four star rating, because the flavor is just what I was looking for. Having to add extra broth (which I chose over water) was no big deal. I would have liked more spices, but I was serving this to children and needed to keep it more bland. For those liking a spicier lentil soup, you will want to add a few of your favorite spices. I did not add mushrooms, once again, because I was serving this to children. I will definitely be making this again, just knowing I will add much more broth. Actually I think I will use one cup rice and one cup lentils and then go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States