Slow Cooker Lentil Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Glop! No soup, just tastless glop. I'll never try it again. Also, I'll learn to read the reviews before I try any new recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
No stars! As has been stated before, this was very disappointing! I had to add more water and broth AND more seasonings! Very bland. Next time I will try it with 1 cup of rice and LOTS of seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I tried this recipe and it came out as a big blop of tastlessness. There was not soup consistency whatsoever about his dish. It was awfull!!! Are you sure its not the rice you add 1 hour before serving and not the mushrooms. I would not recommend this recipe to any one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
I was so disappointed in this recipe as I'm always looking for slow cooker recipes. I put in a bit more liquid than called for, but it still came out as a cooker full of goopy stuff with no liquid at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
The amounts are off! This recipe will not be a soup unless you add liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
I checked the soup after 8 hrs. and lentils and rice were still hard. Cooked overnight but when I checked the soup in the morning, all the liquid was absorbed with a consistency of oatmeal. In order to not throw the whole batch away, I added salted water to it and it was edible. Had alot of flavor but would definately soak lentils for 12 hours before making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
This was nasty. It was a glob of goo with uncooked rice in the middle when I got home. I doctored it up by splitting it up into 2 crock pots and filled them with V-8 juice and keilbesa sausage. After another 3 hours the rice was finally done and at about 9pm that night it was finally edible. Of course by then I had quarts of the stuff. Most ended up not being eaten :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Others complained about it being to dry and more of a lump than a soup---they were right. I added extra water and vegetable broth to try and make it more of a soup and soaked my lentils before cooking. None of this helped I ended up with a large gloppy lumps. At least I didnt waste to much money on the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Wow this was very very very salty I didnt like it at all!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
The first time I made this soup it turned into a big blob. I tried again with 1 c. lentils and 1 c. rice. I still didn't care for it. Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States