Slow Cooker Lentil Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Glop! No soup, just tastless glop. I'll never try it again. Also, I'll learn to read the reviews before I try any new recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
No stars! As has been stated before, this was very disappointing! I had to add more water and broth AND more seasonings! Very bland. Next time I will try it with 1 cup of rice and LOTS of seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I tried this recipe and it came out as a big blop of tastlessness. There was not soup consistency whatsoever about his dish. It was awfull!!! Are you sure its not the rice you add 1 hour before serving and not the mushrooms. I would not recommend this recipe to any one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
I was so disappointed in this recipe as I'm always looking for slow cooker recipes. I put in a bit more liquid than called for, but it still came out as a cooker full of goopy stuff with no liquid at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
The amounts are off! This recipe will not be a soup unless you add liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
I checked the soup after 8 hrs. and lentils and rice were still hard. Cooked overnight but when I checked the soup in the morning, all the liquid was absorbed with a consistency of oatmeal. In order to not throw the whole batch away, I added salted water to it and it was edible. Had alot of flavor but would definately soak lentils for 12 hours before making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
This was nasty. It was a glob of goo with uncooked rice in the middle when I got home. I doctored it up by splitting it up into 2 crock pots and filled them with V-8 juice and keilbesa sausage. After another 3 hours the rice was finally done and at about 9pm that night it was finally edible. Of course by then I had quarts of the stuff. Most ended up not being eaten :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Others complained about it being to dry and more of a lump than a soup---they were right. I added extra water and vegetable broth to try and make it more of a soup and soaked my lentils before cooking. None of this helped I ended up with a large gloppy lumps. At least I didnt waste to much money on the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Wow this was very very very salty I didnt like it at all!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
The first time I made this soup it turned into a big blob. I tried again with 1 c. lentils and 1 c. rice. I still didn't care for it. Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States