Slow Cooker Lentil Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I make something very similar to this but I do find that I have to periodically add water. I use 1 cup lentils, and 1 cup brown rice and 4-6 cups water. It's also good with cumin, chili powder and garlic salt(to flavor) and used as a vegetarian burrito filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Well...I also did not read the reviews before I made this "soup". I basically ended up with a gigantic pot full of some sort of pilaf even though I added 2 extra cups of water. Thankfully I was home to keep an eye on the crock pot otherwise I'm sure I would have ended up with lentil sludge as well. Make sure you Don't use instant wild rice for one thing. I agree that the amount of lentils and rice should be cut in half, and some spices need to be added. Definitely reduce the salt if you use less rice and lentils though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Okay...call it morbid curiosity, but I came across this recipe and just had to try it because of all the bad reviews. Is it really that bad?!?! Well, no. The ratio of water to lentil/rice is 2:1. After reading all of the reviews, clearly the amount of liquid is one issue, so I upped it to 3:1. It could have used more, but oh well. Also, reviewers complained about blandness. Well, this is a site where everyone tweaks things according to their own preferences (aside from those who substitute raspberries for jalapenos and salmon for beef and peas for potatoes, decide to cook it on a Coleman instead of the oven and then say it was terrible). So I added chopped sweet peppers, cumin, red pepper flakes and italian seasoning and used all chicken broth instead of water. Length of cooking time seems to also be an issue, so I only cooked it 4 hours on low which was enough. It turned out to be a fine lentil and rice dish. It is by no means soup, but it does taste good. Whether or not I will make it again, I do not know. It does make a good side dish or quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I followed suggestions of previous reviewers. I soaked the lentils for 14 hours. I used 1 cup of rice and 1 cup of lentils. I used 2 cups vegetable broth and 7 cups of water. I used about 3/4 tsp garlic powder. I cooked on high for 3.5 hours, added mushrooms and cooked for 30 minutes. The soup thickens a lot as it stands, too. This is a thick soup, but that is what makes it really good. It has great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I thought the "soup" had very good flavor so I didn't mind much that is wasn't really a soup. I will definately try one of the suggestions by only using half of the lentils and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moira

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modale, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I made this recipe without looking at the reviews first. I was very surprised to come home and find all the water had been absorbed! I believe this recipe has a misprint; the dry lentils and rice should only be 1 cup each or maybe even 1/2 cup each. I used 2c lentil and only 1c rice, and there was no liquid left after 7 hours of cooking. I salvaged the soup by transferring it to a stock pot, added ~6 cups of chicken stock that I had been thawing anyway, plus more water til it was a soup consistency. I simmered it on the stove for another half hour to soften the lentils that didn't cook through, added a little Polish Sausage and it was pretty good soup, but I've got a gallon of it now! I actually will try this soup again, using a half cup each of lentils and brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I can't say anything that hasn't already been said about this recipe. It should be taken off the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I was very dissappointed. Had to make another dinner. It was extremely dry and I agree the amounts are off. I also threw it out. Last time I make something without checking the reviews first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
I wish I had checked the reviews before I made the dish. WAY to dense and there was no "soup" left over at all! My boyfriend ate in tortillas for the next week and loved it. Too bland for me and way too dry. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States