Slow Cooker Lentil and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Didn't change a thing and it tasted great! Easy to fix and cooked all day and into the night so I had it the next day. Didn't even add salt, there seemed to be enough in the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I made this for dinner and YUM! It was so good even my children devoured it. The only thing I did different was added two chopped potatoes. It was so easy to throw in the crock pot and I was able to use up some left over ham I had in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Cole Leitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I've made this recipe LOTS! Originally tried something similar in Oregon while on travel. It is truly comfort food, I use a 7 qt. crockpot, and more than double the ingredients. I throw in lots of veggies and cubed ham, and extra tomato sauce to make a stoup (stew/soup). This is a great recipe, and as you make it more, tweak the ingredients to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Best lentil soup I ever made. Used full can of tomato sauce, and added another cup of water. Cooked about 9 hours. Didn't change anything else and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is really easy & also really good. I made the recipe exactly. It's a good thickness & it's seasoned well, though I used a salty chicken broth & salty 1/2inch slab of black forest ham from a deli. I think with the tomato sauce, you need to go big or go home. I don't really taste any tomato in the final product, so I should have followed reviewer advice & added in a can of stewed tomatoes (probably chop them first) instead of the pointless 8tsp of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex Schrider

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was very flavorful, but I made two critical changes. 1) I used the whole can of tomato sauce. 2) I cooked it for 6 hours. 11 seemed like a lot, and sure enough, 6 was plenty. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This recipe was way better than I thought it would be. I was just looking for something to use up some frozen ham, but my whole family loved this! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I made this soup tonight. I doubled the recipe. I found that it did not take 11 hours to cook, more like 9. If I cooked it longer it would have cooked the life out of the ham. I also felt that salt needed to be added to the broth. It would have been awesome if I would have had a ham hock to throw into the soup. I also added a little paprika for additional warmth. Overall, it turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Hancock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I've cooked this recipe several times.It's one of my go to recipes whenever I can find ham on sale or have it leftover.I usually follow the recipe, but it's very versatile and you can use what you have on hand.It's yummy, healthy and easy.What's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Great Recipe. Absolutely loved it. I stuck to the recipe, with the exception of adding an extra half cup of lentils and an extra 8 oz of chicken broth. I used low sodium chicken broth. It's pretty thick, and perfect for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Diederich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States