Slow Cooker Lentil and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I have made this three times now. It has gone over well with the whole family including a two and seven year old. I have always added in a ham bone. Cook the whole thing overnight and all day in a slow cooker on low, bumping up to high towards the end. I recommend doubling because you will want leftovers and it freezes well too. Cornbread is a good side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Just perfect for Boston winter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This didn't work at all. Watery, overpowering tomato flavor, overcooked diced ham and undercooked lentils. ( I followed the recipe) In the end I tossed the entire pot after 10 1/2 hours of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This is a great recipe! In order to make it vegetarian-friendly, I replaced the ham for 2 cups of green peas. I also doubled the amount suggested of basil, thyme, and oregano, using 1 teaspoon, 1/2 teaspoon, and 1 teaspoon, respectively. Last but not least, I limited the cooking time to 10 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I loved this. It was great tasting and smelling it cook. I only cooked it 8 hours and it was finished without anything sticking to the crock pot which helped with clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Hall

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midway City, California, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Good soups..as all soups, better the second day! Hit the spot on this snowy March day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This is a great reciepe! Make it every winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I very much enjoyed it. Thick, hearty and satisfying. I used 1.5 cups of lentils and substituted one can of diced tomatoes for the sauce. Omitted the celery and added more carrot. Also added 2 more cloves of garlic. It does take full 11 to cook. I will definitely be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maelee93
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I also used a can of stewed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce and did not add any extra water and did not find it to be too thick. I do however think it could use more flavor...maybe chili powder? Overall I was very happy with the recipe. Quick and easy preparation. Perfect for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I thought it was lacking flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda
Home Town: Rural Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States