Slow Cooker Lentil and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I don't typically make a lot of soups so when I say this was super easy, I'm not lying. I will say I made it per the recipe the first time and the next played, adding more of the veggies listed as well as some leeks I had left over, upped the broth and lentil amount to make it not quite so dense and omitted the tomato paste both times. EXCELLENT base to play around with or as written, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FASTFINAL137

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
It was a little heavy on the spices for me. I didn't have 11 hours, but I stuck it on high for about 5 hours and the consistency was perfect. More like stew, really. The lentils were mushy, but I've never used them before. Hubs likes it okay. It's not a favorite of ours, but I'll probably try it again with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
So yummy! I have tried a few lentil soup recipes from this site, and this one is by far the best!! I didn't have tomato paste, so I omitted the water too and just added about a cup of marinara sauce. My husband who doesn't like soup kept coming back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was really good! Our one change was to use up the smoked ham hock we had in the fridge in place of the diced ham. Not a big change. It was thick and really flavorful. Wonderful autumn food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Librarienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesick, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this recipe and took some oft repeated advice from several reviews and added a whole small can of tomato sauce (rather than the few tsp's that the recipe called for),and a can of diced tomatoes (undrained). The extra fluid helped because the lentils really absorb alot of the juice and I ended up adding some beef broth the last hour of cooking. I'm not sure what went wrong with some of the people who gave bad reviews to this recipe, but I found it to be a fantastic recipe and with the few tweaks I mentioned, it will be my go-to ham and lentil soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Fischer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Made it almost exactly, but used more lentils and water as the reviews suggested. I also used leftover pork loin from last night's dinner instead of ham. Sausage would be great, too. Thank you, this was delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daytripperrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is a fabulous recipe! I had to make it again the next day because my family ate it all and my husband is asking for more. I used stewed tomoatoes instead of the sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Very, very good! Particularily on a chilly day, or at lunch at the ski hill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Added a can of diced tomatoes to it as suggested in other reviews. Also ended up using an entire 8 oz can of tomato sauce instead of 8 tsps. Next time I would add a bit more black pepper and probably some cayenne to give it some spice. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
So yummy...after reading reviews I added 1 cup of extra water and 2 Roma tomatoes that I squished into the crock pot and rough chopped. Added a couple dashes of tobasco and Worcestershire and carmelized the onions before adding to the crockpot to bring out the sweetness. Also made son jalapeño cheddar corn muffins and southwestern corn corn muffins. Soooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States