Slow Cooker Lentil and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Solid 4 stars! I cooked mine on low for 9-1/2 hours and it was plenty done at that point. I checked it about halfway through and it looked like it was running low on liquid so I added another cup of water. It was quite flavorful and particularly enjoyed by my 3 y/o grandchild. We did add salt and pepper to taste on an individual basis. Thanks for sharing this recipe, queendiva1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Delish and even better the next day...I used all broth and added about 1 cup more and it was still a fairly thick soup. I doubled this and used 16oz tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Glendora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Loved this recipe. I added the hambone in the soup while it cooked. I also added a can of tomato paste instead of tomato sauce (it's what I had). Turned out fabulous! Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I turned it into a vegan soup (I was making it for a friend who is vegetarian for religious reasons) by using vegetable broth, and omitting the ham. I added more lentils, more water, and more oregano, thyme, and basil due to the other comments. It turned out AMAZING. He ate several bowls and asked me for the recipe! Easy soup for vegans/vegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Great soup. I altered it based on ingredients on hand. Instead of chicken stock, I used juice from my boiled ham dinner; I also used some cooked veggies from the dinner as well (cabbage, carrots & turnip); all other ingredients were used but I used a whole can of diced tomatoes. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sambro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Yummo! Ok, so I used navy beans instead of lentils and a huge can of tomato sauce instead of 8oz. But your could put anything in this pot so long as you let it simmer, and simmer. I cooked mine like for 4 hours, then served it the next day. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is amazing! I'm going to be one of those annoying people and list all my tweaks. I swapped celery for corn and the tomato sauce for diced tomatoes added at the very end and swapped the ham for bacon. I also find it much quicker to grate the carrots rather than chop them. I think that's one of the great strengths of recipes like this, they're very open to small changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This was my first attempt cooking or eating lentils, so I wasn't sure what to expect. Not only did I love it, but my 3 year old kept asking for more. I figure it is a great way to get veggies in your kids. The second time I made it, I left out of the ham and added some black beans for a vegetarian version and it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjwalsh97

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
surprisingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States