Slow Cooker Lentil and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This is one of the tastiest soup I have made. Instead of tomato sause I used a can of accented tomatoes. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
A Good hearty Soup...a bit thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This was pretty good. I made it to use ingredients I had on hand, switching to lentils because I was out of split peas and I wanted a slow cooked soup for this ridiculously frigid day. As usual, I halved the recipe for my family of two. I had a ham hock, but I think we'd prefer it better with just the diced ham, as I got no meat off the bone, and the ham flavor was intense, but not satisying. I had a little ham, so I threw that in. Like others, I added about 1/3 c. of barley and about 1/2c. more water at the eight hour mark because we like it and it added nutrition, and I mixed about two ounces of water into about four ounces of leftover four cheese marinara I had on hand and used that instead of the tomato sauce. I served it with some cornbread, and we liked it well enough for a cold day. We liked the healthy amount of veg and the protein rich lentils and barley, but it would have been way too thin without the barley. If I try this again, I will keep the barley, add more lentils and use veg stock to make it lent friendly. Thanks to all for the helpful reviews and suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Made as directed, just nothing to rave about. It tastes like a basic vegetable soup with ham added. Easy to make and healthy, but any other ham soup will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Great recipe...only changed a couple things because I didn't have them...great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This soup is very good! I make it with a can of chopped stewed tomatoes and add about 3/4 cup of barley to the mix. I make it without the ham and with vegetable broth as I have a couple of vegetarian kids and it is still very tasty. I just add ham to the soup for those of us who like and eat meat. It has become a regular at our house. Thank you for an easy, nutritious and economical recipe that makes a soup that is wonderful to come home to after work on a winter's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Doubled the recipe and cooked it on the stove. Did leftover ham & ham bone. Followed the recipe and added 1 can tomatoes instead of 2 cans tomato sauce. Also, added a little of red pepper flakes. It was delicious!! Can't wait until tomorrow when the spices have time to meld more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Really good. Only change I made was didn't have ham so put in browned Italian sausage - and I did cook it on top of the stove. I always use siracha in just about every soup i make ... like the heat. But that is something I add to my bowl not the pot. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
The soup itself has a very nice flavor, I added a can of diced tomatoes and did not put in the tomatoe sauce. Found the Lentil's did not soften, I bought them for this recipe but perhaps they were old in the store. Will try it again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by DynamoGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Great Recipe! Perfect As Is. We Simmered Ours On The Stove For 3 Hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States