Slow Cooker Lentil and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I love this soup. The only thing I did different was I added diced tomatoes instead of the tomato sauce. Will make all winter. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Made on stove top instead. Definite staple meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This was very hearty and tasty. I made exactly as written except I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of the tomato sauce, and used some vey meaty ham shanks with the bones still in. I soaked the lentils for a couple of hours and then prepared everything in the crockpot bowl the night before so that it was ready to start cooking in the morning. Cooked for 9 hours and came out a perfect consistency. I don't think I'll add oregano next time, as I'm not much of a fan of it in my old age. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCJANGULO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Easy to make and fantastic flavor! This was the perfect soup for a cool day. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I've used this several different ways, and it's always been a winner! I love to use it for leftover hambones (with all the ham you can't really get off), After it's all cooked a while, I fish the bone out, cut the soft ham off & add it back to the pot. I usually add some more ham to that It's so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This soup was very good, even though by sheer accident, it ended up being pea soup versus lentil soup because my husband bought the wrong bag. I've made other soups in the slow cooker, and have had them come out on the heavy, thick, almost pasty side. That wasn't the case with t his soup. Other than peas, and throwing a leftover meaty ham bone in at the beginning, I followed the recipe exactly. Seasoning was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Sato-Heitmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I thought this was pretty good and the hubby loved it. I ended up making this on the stove. I liked how the vegetables stayed just a little crunchy to balance out the tenderness of the lintels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This is definitely a comfort food recipe! We made it for a post St Patty's Day parade party. We loaded the raw ingredients in the crock pot the night before, placed it in the fridge, and pulled it out bright and early the following morning to cook. After 11 hours on low, and it was perfect! We doubled the recipe which filled our 6 qt crock pot just to the rim. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This was delicious! My first time cooking lentils. I used french lentils. I decided to omit the basil and use fresh thyme. I subbed 1-2 tsp. tomato paste for the 8 tsp. sauce. I used veggie broth instead of chicken. I also added about 1/4 cup pureed butternut squash I needed to use up. It gave the soup a little thickness. I cooked on high for 5 1/2 to 6 hours. I love soups and will definitely add this to my list of favorites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I've never cooked anything with lentils so I followed the recipe to a t except for substituting pork tenderloin for the ham. The texture was perfect and the flavor was wonderful. This is a great soup base and next time I will try it with chicken. It would also be wonderful as a vegetarian dish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States