Slow Cooker Lentil and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Yum, this was wonderful. I made a double batch because I have been sick all week, and this sounded so good. Plus that way we have leftovers for tonight, so I don't have to cook. I did not measure out the tomato sauce though, I just used a 8 oz can, and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
We love Lentil soup and this is by far the best Lentil Soup I have made! Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This is delicious! We have made it several times, using different meats each time. We have made it with chicken, kielbasa sausage, and ham. The ham was the overall favorite, but all ways are good. This is a weekly meal for us during the winter. Love how easy it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna Durham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I thought the list of spices looked wrong for a soup with ham. Oh yeah, very very wrong. This was inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Not bad, but not my favorite. I think I was hoping it would be more "like Mom used to make" which really isn't a reflection on the quality of the recipe, just personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Great recipe! Didn't have time to wait for the slow cooker so cooked it stovetop. Mix lentils: beluga and organic or whatever I have. Usually will use a honey baked ham bone & add the meat back to the soup, and usually also add cooked chicken breast and organic chicken sausage too. All three meats in one pot makes for a hearty and wonderful soup! Thank you for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Arredondo (me)

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I have made another lentil soup recipe for many years that is also at this site. Tried this one and it's just as good but in a slightly different way. I like that it's done in the crock pot. I got it going at 7:30 am and put on high for about 45 mins and then let cook on low till 4:30. I put on the table to start cooling. At 5:00 it was still pretty hot. It was cooked perfectly so I'd say mine only took 9 hrs of cooking. I did not put just 8 tsps of tomato sauce as recipe calls for and wondered if that was a typo. I put a whole 8 oz can and that worked well. I never had to add any other liquid and the soup was just the right thickness. I used some leftover spiral ham which flavored it nicely. Great flavor, easy to make, hearty soup! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Made this twice with leftover ham. First time exactly as with, second time using ham stock from a boiled ham and tomato paste since i was out of sauce. Both times delishious! W like our soups very flavorful so doubled the spices the second time and added some liquid smoke, hot sauce and chipotle pepper flakes. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Graham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Amazing ... will definitely do it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephen Banks
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe and very easy to make. I added some mushrooms and diced tomatoes for fun. Instead of ham I used some leftover turkey bacon that I had in the fridge. Came out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen Banks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States