Slow Cooker Lentil and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Delicious! I added a large can of stewed tomatoes (as the previous reviewer suggested) and a small tin of tomato paste instead of adding tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was so easy to make - used the leftover ham from Thanksgiving - included the bone while cooking. Didn't have a bay leaf, but don't feel it was really missed. Was a tad salty, but wouldn't blame the recipe - probably was the ham. Just added more broth to tone it down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodiS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Amazing. Smellsamazing, tastes amazing. Perfect on a rainy winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
i liked it, but some of my beans didn't cook-still hard. i purred some of the soup, and tossed back into the pot to thicken broth. i also added a spicey smoked sausage instead of ham. flavour was great but the hard beans kinda ruinned it a little. i found out what i did wrong i used a split pea and lentil mixture. split peas need to sit over night. i made this recipe again using only lentils and it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wheatley, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This soup was very good and filled the house with a nice aroma. Keep a watch on it thought because I'm not sure if I overcooked it at 9 hours on low. I suppose different slow cookers run different temperatures. I checked on it because I couldn't smell it as strongly anymore...good thing because the lentils were nice and soft already. I may have even been able to get away with 6 hours. I think adding diced tomato would give it an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I really dug this soup. My husband said it was too "porky" but he's on a veg kick right now, so I suspect that's why. Could also have been because I used smoked canadian bacon chunks instead of ham because for some reason I couldn't find cooked ham. I cooked it for the full 11 hours and used a full can of tomato sauce. I thought it was plenty salty and flavorful and really liked the texture. I will be enjoying it for lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Definitely a recipe that you can adapt to what you have on hand. I didnt have celery so just used a tsp of celery seed for flavoring. Used red onion instead of white/yellow. Used turkey ham instead of regular ham. ADDED 1 1/2 tsp of cumin and 1/2 tsp of salt as it was a bit bland for our tastes. We like lots of spices in our food. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I am probably only giving this as many as three stars because of peer pressure! I have been searching for a lentil recipe becasue I want to like lentils, but this was not it. We really did not like this and only ate one bowl full and dumped the rest out. We are not vegetarians. Maybe the great reviews are coming from those who don't eat meat. I just thought this recipe was blah. Why do I feel like I should apologize?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Henderson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Excellent! I slow cooked it for like 15 hrs and I added stewed tomatoes (14oz can) instead of puree. I followed everything else. My honey says, This is awesome! THIS IS AWESOME! LOL I think that's the first time he said that about my cooking!!! THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie0469
Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Needs just a little more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States