Slow Cooker Lentil and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Delicious! I made this yesterday as per the directions, with the exception of using Italian Seasoning in place of the individual herbs and also using a can of diced tomatoes (salt free) in place of the tomato sauce. I didn't add salt because I've heard that adding it in the beginning can make the lentils tough (hence the salt free tomatoes) and boy am I glad that I didn't. It is VERY salty just from the ham, and trust me I love me some salt. Just be mindful of this and your soup will turn out delicious too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Great flavor! Added an extra 1/2 cup of water in the beginning. Probably could have used a full cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
My wife and I love Lentil soup and it is cold and rainy today, so the planning was excellent. I had one major question. The recipe calls for 8 teaspoons of Tomato Sauce. I had to feel this was a typo so I went with the full 8 ounces instead. It worked fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Delicious - cooked on low for 3 hours, than high for another 3 and it was delicious. Even better the next day when it had blended more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bergj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Made this as is, maybe added a few more veggies. This soup was delicious! Made it in the crock pot, the flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~NorCal Mom~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This soup is excellent! As is is one of the best soups I have ever eaten or cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookininkc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I played pretty fast and loose with this recipe, doubling it and changing ingredients that I didn't have in the house: a leek instead of the onion; a spice blend of black and green peppercorns, red berries, onion, rosemary, mustard seed, and thyme; a can of stewed plum tomatoes instead of the tomato sauce. Proportionally, probably less water, too, and I used three picked-over ham hocks for the meat. It came out great. This is a very forgiving recipe base! Will make forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Delicious! I added a large can of stewed tomatoes (as the previous reviewer suggested) and a small tin of tomato paste instead of adding tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was so easy to make - used the leftover ham from Thanksgiving - included the bone while cooking. Didn't have a bay leaf, but don't feel it was really missed. Was a tad salty, but wouldn't blame the recipe - probably was the ham. Just added more broth to tone it down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodiS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Amazing. Smellsamazing, tastes amazing. Perfect on a rainy winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States