Slow Cooker Lentil and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was very flavorful, but I made two critical changes. 1) I used the whole can of tomato sauce. 2) I cooked it for 6 hours. 11 seemed like a lot, and sure enough, 6 was plenty. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This recipe was way better than I thought it would be. I was just looking for something to use up some frozen ham, but my whole family loved this! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I made this soup tonight. I doubled the recipe. I found that it did not take 11 hours to cook, more like 9. If I cooked it longer it would have cooked the life out of the ham. I also felt that salt needed to be added to the broth. It would have been awesome if I would have had a ham hock to throw into the soup. I also added a little paprika for additional warmth. Overall, it turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Hancock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I've cooked this recipe several times.It's one of my go to recipes whenever I can find ham on sale or have it leftover.I usually follow the recipe, but it's very versatile and you can use what you have on hand.It's yummy, healthy and easy.What's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Great Recipe. Absolutely loved it. I stuck to the recipe, with the exception of adding an extra half cup of lentils and an extra 8 oz of chicken broth. I used low sodium chicken broth. It's pretty thick, and perfect for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Diederich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I have made this several times and it just keeps getting better . Best of all , my friends think I am an expert . SHHHH our little secret . Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Delhi, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Yum, this was wonderful. I made a double batch because I have been sick all week, and this sounded so good. Plus that way we have leftovers for tonight, so I don't have to cook. I did not measure out the tomato sauce though, I just used a 8 oz can, and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
We love Lentil soup and this is by far the best Lentil Soup I have made! Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This is delicious! We have made it several times, using different meats each time. We have made it with chicken, kielbasa sausage, and ham. The ham was the overall favorite, but all ways are good. This is a weekly meal for us during the winter. Love how easy it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna Durham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I thought the list of spices looked wrong for a soup with ham. Oh yeah, very very wrong. This was inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States