Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2002
WOW this was good. I followed posters suggestions and used 2C water and dissolved a boulion cube in it. I also added a little white wine, the garlic and a shallot to deglaze the pan b4 adding the water/spice mixture. Even then, I had to add about a cup more water while it was cooking. I also dredged the chik breasts in a lemon pepper seasoning in addition to the oregono. I omitted all the salt from the recipe too, since boulion is so salty. Made the leftover broth into gravy, cooked up the Uncle Bens Chicken rice, and dinner was AbFab!! I will def be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
807 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Easy and moist. I did as others suggested and added more liquids: 1/2 c chicken broth, 1/3 lemon juice, and since I had it on hand, about 1/2 c white wine. When ready to plate, I thickened sauce with cornstarch. It was great over egg noodles! Took less than 3 hrs. in crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
666 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This chicken is truly delicious. I have made this recipe four or five times already, it's definitely a keeper. It doesn't make much extra sauce so if you want some to scoop over potatoes or pasta you should double the sauce. The only thing I do differently is I use boneless skinless chicken tenders instead of chicken breast halves. The chicken pieces are smaller which allows them to soak up more of the juices and seasonings making them very flavorful and tender. I have also added sliced mushrooms... yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
554 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
My first crock pot experience, and it turned out great! I took a lot of advice from the posts here: I covered the bottom of the pot with potatoes, onions, mushrooms, and lots of garlic (about 6 cloves). I used bone-in breasts (I did brown them first, using butter, salt and lemon-pepper mix, awesome), then deglazed the pan with 1 cup white wine. Added all that to the pot, along with 2 cans of chicken stock, 6 tablespoons lemon juice, and a little more salt. I cooked on high for 2 hours, then low for 1 hour - perfect! I think the bone-in chicken made a big difference, it was wonderful and falling apart. I would be careful with the lemon juice - I love strong flavors and was tempted to add more, but my 6 tablespoons was bordering on too bitter - excellent though! Also turned the extra juice into gravy for veggies and it was yummy, with side of chicken couscous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
An awesome lo-carb dish. You don't have to brown the chicken. Just mix the seasonings in a pot on the stove and boil slightly then poor over the chicken in the slow cooker. Use xanthum to thicken the left over juices into a very flavorful gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
What a dish! I doubled the spices except the garlic and used the juice of an entire lemon, and used chicken stock instead of water/boullion, using enough stock to almost cover chicken. And 30 min. before cook time finished, I stirred in 2 T. cornstarch dissolved in 1/4 cup water. Plenty of sauce for serving with chicken over pasta. And here's a trick: it was REALLY lemony and too sour, so I stirred in almost 2 T sugar. Totally fixed that problem. It was DIVINE!!! Thanks for an awesome, interesting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Very good, would be 5 stars with a few tweeks. The recipe was a little salty for my taste, I will reduce the salt next time. Also, I cooked for 6 hours on low but chicken turned out a little overcooked. Next time, I think 4-5 hours would be plenty. Will definatley make this again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
YUMMY! This was incredible! I used bottled lemon juice, since I didn't have any lemons on hand, and it was still great. I also used the boillon and it was fine. I did double the amount of sauce, and thicken it with a little cornstarch at the end. But, oh, my -- this is definitely going into regular rotation! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
This dish was very, very good. I omitted the water and bouillon and used 1/4 cup of chicken broth instead, and it worked wonderfully. The garlic and lemon truly infuse the chicken, which becomes incredibly tender in the slow cooker. My only caveat would be that the chicken was somewhat bland--it's not a very piquant dish. (I'm love strong flavors, but this isn't a characteristic slow cooking usually imparts.) Nonetheless, I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
THis turned out surprisingly good!!! I used two boneless skinless breasts, (1lb) and I did everything by the recipe except used more garlic as we LOVE garlic...I used the already minced garlic...I also took everyone elses advice & used chicken broth instead of water...I made enough to cover chicken so it did not dry out...I also cooked this for about 4 1/2 hours on low.....I took juice out of crockpot, added cornstarch to thicken it up & made a yummy gravy! returned gravy & chicken to crockpot & left on warm..chicken fell apart & soaked in so much flavor it was unreal! I served w/Uncle Ben's whole grain brown rice w/garlic flavors & steamed broccoli & cauliflower & it was sensational! My fiance is NOT a big chicken eater & he ate every bite of his & complimented the flavor! Will definitely make again...I def. agree that making sure the breasts are covered in liquid is key..also, my chicken breast were kind of thick & so I think this helped it not to dry out! Sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 680) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States