Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This was just okay. Three hours was way too long and made the outside of the chicken dry and tough. I should have know better than try to cook chicken that long in a crock pot! As others suggested, I used more spices but only 3 Tbs of lemon juice. I used chicken broth in place of water for more flavor. That didn't help much. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Really enjoyed this recipe :). I too upped the liquid levels; with which I later added 1 1/2 tbsp xanthan gum to in order to thicken it up into a gravy-like mix. I added small whole potatoes, sliced carrots, & diced celery to the slowcooker pot as well. 2 1/2 hrs on high, and another hour on low = nicely cooked chicken that fell apart on my fork hehe. I wanna try this again with bone-in breasts & legs some time; or just a whole chicken. I added a photo compilation as well ;) *Tip: be mindful of the spices. I added a bit too much pepper since I thought it seemed 'light', WHOOO it left a 'hot' sensation on my tongue after eating haha. Not a big deal to be honest, just thought I'd mention to not over-add more spices/seasonings unless you want a stronger flavor from em. All in all, this is a keeper recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeerLuver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This was perfectly easy and my hubby loved it. Looking forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Wow! finally something the whole clan will eat! It was quick and easy to prep, and I used lemon-pepper instead of just pepper. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. Too good to not do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: West Valley City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
To jemclerran you can buy any type of white wine. You should always cook with wine you will drink. They also sell small juice box servings of wine that you can use for cooking. Use as much as you need and then put the cap back on and put it in the fridge for the next recipe. They work really well. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveToEat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
So easy and tasty. Our picky kids even enjoyed it. The only thing I would change is to double sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I always read the reviews before I fix one of the Daily Recipes. Based on the reviews, I browned the chicken then used half of a small onion and browned it and the garlic. I used 2 cups of water, 2 generous teaspoons of the chicken bouillon and then followed the recipe the rest of the way it was written. This was practically inhaled by my family. I make this every 6 to 8 weeks and get rave reviews every time. Thanks for sharing, Carla Joy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
My family loved this recipe! I did double the liquids but that was just because I wanted some extra for the rice. And I used garlic pepper on the chicken when browning but we love garlic! All in all, great recipe and very easy to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight and we thought the flavor was good, but found the chicken breasts to be quite dry - even though we only cooked for 6 hours in the slow cooker. I didn't bother browning anything, I just threw it all in the slow cooker and let it do the work. I increased the garlic to four big cloves, roughly chopped, added a half cup of white wine and cooked on low. The end result was tasty...but dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
very plain and boring. my kids liked it but i don't think it was anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TALULABELLE28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States