Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I used two pounds of boneless chicken thighs and skipped the browning stage. I added a little more salsa and broth. I increased the cumin, garlic and allspice by 1/2 again. I shredded the chicken before serving all of it on rice. Very good. for a cold winter's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This is one of my favorite recipes. When I first glanced at the ingredients I wasn't too sure about it but the combination of flavors is surprisingly awesome. I frequently substitute frozen sweet corn for one of the cans of beans. As far as the salsa goes what ever is open in the frig works, it doesn't have to be the hot. Occasionally I use dry cilanto if fresh isn't available. It is one of those recipes that is versatile and always turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This was one of the best recipes I've ever made!!!! It was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is hands down my favorite crock pot dinner! I recommend doubling the sauce like others commented, however, I didn't double the cumin or allspice and it was perfect. Also, like others, I used one can of black black and then cut fresh corn off one cob. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This has instantly become one of our favorites. I omit the red/green peppers for my wife. I also ease up on the cilantro. I don't use it while browning the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
good, didn't blow me away though. simple, quick and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I used chicken legs (what I had),can of white beans (also what I had), some corn I froze, actually put lime juice in, made salsa (Fresh Salsa on here, added garlic), added half a hot pepper. After it was cooking 6 hours I took the chicken off the bone and tasted the sauce and it seemed it was missing something. I then added poultry seasoning, cinnamo,n salt and pepper. Tasted it again and it was spot on! Served over rice cooked in chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Wow! This was deliciously exotic! I accidentally added ground cloves instead of cumin and it was still fantastic. I am definitely making this again. Next time I'll make it as directed with cumin! We served it over rice and added more liquid than was called for, but we like it soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
i tried it yesterday and i absolutely loved it. i am going to share it with my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Added: corn, dice tomatoes, green bell pepper, fresh cilantro and onion as garnish It's not often that sweet potatoes find their way into my kitchen, but this recipe was too simple and too highly rated to pass up. Instead of chicken thigh, we used chicken breast and skipped the browning process. After 3.5 hours on high the potato was soft enough and the chicken was fully cooked (but not dry). Next time I'll try to reduce the sodium content by nixing the salsa for more diced tomatoes and jalapenos or chile peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States