Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Very good and perfect for these fall days. I ddin't brown the chicken first just placed in pot, salt and pepper and then the 1/4 c of cilantro and proceeded as per recipe with 2 changes: subbed i can corn for 1 can of black beans and doubled the sauce. I cooked on low for 7 hours. It cam out a bit like a stew with the extra liquid bit that was fine to serve with rice. The medium salsa still gave it a nice kick. One comment, though, after the 7 hours the sweet potatoes were just done. If you were cooking less time they would really need to be cut very small. Delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Great recipe! I added a little more chicken broth and a little garlic s salt; also I used chicken legs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Loved this dish, simple ingredients and easy prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I loved this! I cooked it for 6 hours because it fit my work/gym schedule. haha. I didn't brown the chicken first because slow-cooker to me means just throw it all in there and leave it alone. Also, I realized I had no all spice. :( But I googled a substitute and mixed some cloves, nutmeg and cinnamon together and it worked because the spices were perfect. And the kicker...it's super healthy!! Thanks for the easy, healthy and more importantly TASTY recipe. Chicken just fell apart. **Oh as others said, I doubled the liquid to ensure everything was well covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This was fantastic. I used ~2 lbs of frozen chicken thighs, placed directly in the slow cooker (no thawing/browning) and followed other reviewers' suggestions to double the seasonings and broth. Also tossed in some frozen corn. It turned out hearty, thick, and delicious. I've served this with rice, pasta, and cornbread -- all great. The sweet potatoes really make the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Nice combination of flavors. I never liked sweet potatoes until I tried them with these flavors - delicious! Sprinkle with additional cilantro and fresh lime juice once it is served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Disappointing! The flavor just wasn't there. It just didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
What a surprise! It's so healthy, all whole food, and so tasty. I'll be making this for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I really loved the flavor of this chicken. The ingredients sounded like they might not complement each other, but actually it was really really good. I enjoyed it over rice, and was able to freeze half for later. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Great recipe! I suggest doubling the sauce and cutting the sweet potatoes fairly small so they're not hard when everything else is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States