Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I LOVE this recipe!! Tip 1: The first step is really optional...as a time-saver, I will either just put the chicken in OR at the most I will pre-toss the chicken in a bowl with the salt/pepper/olive oil/cilantro -- but I don't pre-brown it. Tip 2: To make it healthier, I always make this with boneless skinless chicken breasts (vs. thighs) and it is still delicious. The chicken shreds up a little bit and it's still extremely flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I tried this recipe yesterday and it was quite tasty. I didn't have fresh salso so I used a can of Rotel, added a can of corn, added a packet of Sazon, and doubled the chicken broth. I was skeptical about the sweet potatoes prior to making this dish but I now see that it is imperative to use them as they add a special twist to the meal. I will definitely make this again ;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This was such a great change in the normal routine of meals. Everyoe liked it and will fix again and again. In fact, i have been asked to fix it again. I used mild salsa which was plenty tasteful to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I make this recipe so much I know it by heart. I make the following changes....I only use I can of beans, use mild salsa or sometimes even peach, lots of extra sweet potatoes and I add canned crushed tomatoes. With the addition of the tomatoes, I don't usually need the chicken broth. The sauce in the end is so rich and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This was EXCELLENT!!! Even my picky boyfriend loved it. I also added a little extra liquid since I know my slow cooker runs a little on the hot side. I didn't have any cilantro so I improvised a little with "poultry seasoning" and some coriander. I also had baby red, orange, and yellow peppers which I used (sometimes it's just gotta be what's on hand! ... lol). Absolutely wonderful. I'll definitely make this again. Next time I'll make sure to have cilantro on hand ahead of time. Superb!!! ... Rie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This was very good. I made a few changes, but not anything too serious. I used 1 lb chicken breast that I did not brown, so the oil was omitted. I think the browned thighs would taste awesome, but I didn't need the calories. I only used 1 sweet potato and 1 can of beans so that there would be more liquid in the pot (other reviews indicated everything got dried out). Lastly I used medium salsa instead of hot. I served with sharp cheddar sprinkled on top and it was great. We tried putting some in hard taco shells and that added awesome crunch and flavor. Next time I would just dip tortilla chips in like we do with chili to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Awesome filling for tacos and enchiladas. Sweet potato adds a hint of sweetness which compliments the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Wow, this was good! My boyfriend was a bit skeptical, but I knew we'd both love it. The only part I skipped was adding the cilantro since it tastes like soap to him... wish I hadn't waited so long to give this a shot! Also used chopped bell pepper instead of strips. I loved the addition of sweet potatoes... perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
this has become my go to recipe for an easy, but delicious dinner. definitely use chicken with the bones still on, and the meat will melt in your mouth! absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Didn't have cilantro and didn't feel like slicing up a pepper, so we did without. I'm not sure if it were the lack of cilantro, but this was pretty bland. Next time, I'm going to add taco or burrito seasoning. I enjoyed the texture of the sweet potatoes, though. Put in the crock pot for 6 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States