Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Great recipe for a busy day! I did not brown the chicken before placing it in the crockpot, just added the ingredients and let it cook while I was at work. It was in there for about 9 hours so I added more liquid than the original recipe called for. Very versatile recipe, we had it as tacos. But with a little more liquid it would have been great as a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
It was good and interesting for sure. There was something I didn't love- I think I'll cut back on the cumin next time, maybe just a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This isn't very pretty but it tastes really good. After four hours the chicken pretty much shredded itself when I stirred all the ingredients together. Good blend of flavors but I think next time I would leave out the sweet potatoes and then use this as filling in tortillas. ;-) mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This was very simple and had a unique flavor. It was slightly sweet and mildly spicy. I double the amount of sauce, and was glad that I did. Very budget friendly for the amount of food it makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Followed other reviews and doubled the sauce and used 1 can of black beans and 1 can of corn. Used a whole, cut up chicken because that's what I had. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Loved this! Reminds me of Stewed Chicken with Rice and Beans! My Belizean Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was okay. I'll probably make it again just for some variety. I used chicken tenders. I really wish I HADN'T added corn. The corn overpowers this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Fan-freaking-tastic! This was soooo goood! I used boneless skinless thighs, 1 can black beans, 1 can corn, 1 chopped onion, and 5 or 6 cloves of garlic. Also used a few bay leaves for good measure. I ended up using triple the cumin/allspice along with salt/pepper. Skipped the browning process as it was totally unneccessary. I was going to skip the sweet potatoes but after reading the others reviews saying it was a must I went ahead with it. I'm glad I did! Also, doubled the liquid by using 16oz jar of medium salsa, & 1-1/2c chicken broth. Cooked on high for 5 hours and thicked with a bit of cornstarch at the end. Served with white rice. Delicious! Used the leftover mixture and made burritoes the next day. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
It was tasty, but did not really blow me away. Will probably make again just because it was easy. I will add more salsa next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States