Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I love this recipe! I found that I did not need to double the liquid as some other reviewers suggested - there was plenty of sauce. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs - so tender they just fell apart. I served it over yellow rice & it was so good. Also strained sauce & made soft tacos the next day - delicious!! A little sour cream and some lime juice to top them off. I did what several people suggested and used one can of corn with one can of beans - very tasty. Next time I will use 2 cans of beans per original recipe since we like black beans. I did cook a little differently - I cooked for 2hrs on hi then reduced to low for last 2hrs. Even my hubby said this was a keeper and he hates when I try new recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
was a very flavorful dish with many different layers. i think that raisins would have been a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Great recipe for a busy day! I did not brown the chicken before placing it in the crockpot, just added the ingredients and let it cook while I was at work. It was in there for about 9 hours so I added more liquid than the original recipe called for. Very versatile recipe, we had it as tacos. But with a little more liquid it would have been great as a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
It was good and interesting for sure. There was something I didn't love- I think I'll cut back on the cumin next time, maybe just a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This isn't very pretty but it tastes really good. After four hours the chicken pretty much shredded itself when I stirred all the ingredients together. Good blend of flavors but I think next time I would leave out the sweet potatoes and then use this as filling in tortillas. ;-) mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This was very simple and had a unique flavor. It was slightly sweet and mildly spicy. I double the amount of sauce, and was glad that I did. Very budget friendly for the amount of food it makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Followed other reviews and doubled the sauce and used 1 can of black beans and 1 can of corn. Used a whole, cut up chicken because that's what I had. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Loved this! Reminds me of Stewed Chicken with Rice and Beans! My Belizean Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was okay. I'll probably make it again just for some variety. I used chicken tenders. I really wish I HADN'T added corn. The corn overpowers this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Fan-freaking-tastic! This was soooo goood! I used boneless skinless thighs, 1 can black beans, 1 can corn, 1 chopped onion, and 5 or 6 cloves of garlic. Also used a few bay leaves for good measure. I ended up using triple the cumin/allspice along with salt/pepper. Skipped the browning process as it was totally unneccessary. I was going to skip the sweet potatoes but after reading the others reviews saying it was a must I went ahead with it. I'm glad I did! Also, doubled the liquid by using 16oz jar of medium salsa, & 1-1/2c chicken broth. Cooked on high for 5 hours and thicked with a bit of cornstarch at the end. Served with white rice. Delicious! Used the leftover mixture and made burritoes the next day. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States