Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This was a delicious dish - and definitely not ordinary! Ijust put frozen chicken breasts in the slow cooker and added the rest of the ingredients. The chicken was tender and flavorful. Healthy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
We loved this easy recipe! The fresh cilantro and our friend's homemade salsa gave it a wonderful flavor. Only tip is to add the beans and red pepper towards the end of the cooking time to keep them a little more crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This is a very different chicken dish! I think it would be great as a potluck dish, especially since it is so painless to make. We found the flavors grew on us, the more we ate, the better we liked it! Excellent served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Threw everything in the crockpot and it turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Would make it again. I had to use bone in chick thighs, but it still turned out very good. I used medium salsa for fear that hot salsa would be too spicy for me, but I would use hot salsa next time. By the time it was done, the medium salsa seemed mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Great recipe! I took the suggestions in the reviews and doubled the sauce. I also substituted the sweet potatoes for various small potatoes (i.e purple potatoes, Yukon gold, etc) I also added some cayenne pepper. super yummy and a great midweek meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Lovely flavors, and so healthy!! Admit some changes, but none that really changed the essence of the dish. I used pork tenderloin, 2#, cut in 1-1.5 inch chunks, browned in EVOO. Next, I used 2 tsp of ground coriander instead of allspice. Also, I chopped the cilantro stems into 1/4" pieces and added them rather than adding the cilantro leaves while browning the meat.....this adds the flavor better (and you don't waste the stems). And lastly, I used a tagine rather than a slow cooker, and cooked it just until the meat was done and the sweet potatoes were softened, about 20 minutes. We served it over steamed brown rice, with a really hot salsa to add as desired. YUM!!! Rave reviews from guests, and because it made so much, they took leftovers home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
What a flavorful recipe! We followed other cooks' suggestion and doubled the spices. I also added a whole bunch of chopped cilantro as we love the flavor. We had 4 pounds of chicken so I used a whole can (2 cups) of chicken broth. We also used two cups of my husband's homemade salsa. I browned the chicken, then put it in the slow cooker for about 6 hours. We did not serve it the same day. The next day we put the whole casserole (cold) into a cold oven, then set the oven for 3 hours and left the chicken in the oven for about 2 hours. We did not eat it over rice, but in a pasta bowl as a stew. It was very yummy and a definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
An easy to make crowd pleaser. Especially for the commuter family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Upper Verlot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
We doubled the liquid & spices as previous reviewers had suggested and it was just enough. I cooked for longer as well to make it stewier. It had really good flavor and everyone enjoyed it. It will make our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States