Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This isn't very pretty but it tastes really good. After four hours the chicken pretty much shredded itself when I stirred all the ingredients together. Good blend of flavors but I think next time I would leave out the sweet potatoes and then use this as filling in tortillas. ;-) mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This was very simple and had a unique flavor. It was slightly sweet and mildly spicy. I double the amount of sauce, and was glad that I did. Very budget friendly for the amount of food it makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Followed other reviews and doubled the sauce and used 1 can of black beans and 1 can of corn. Used a whole, cut up chicken because that's what I had. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Loved this! Reminds me of Stewed Chicken with Rice and Beans! My Belizean Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was okay. I'll probably make it again just for some variety. I used chicken tenders. I really wish I HADN'T added corn. The corn overpowers this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Fan-freaking-tastic! This was soooo goood! I used boneless skinless thighs, 1 can black beans, 1 can corn, 1 chopped onion, and 5 or 6 cloves of garlic. Also used a few bay leaves for good measure. I ended up using triple the cumin/allspice along with salt/pepper. Skipped the browning process as it was totally unneccessary. I was going to skip the sweet potatoes but after reading the others reviews saying it was a must I went ahead with it. I'm glad I did! Also, doubled the liquid by using 16oz jar of medium salsa, & 1-1/2c chicken broth. Cooked on high for 5 hours and thicked with a bit of cornstarch at the end. Served with white rice. Delicious! Used the leftover mixture and made burritoes the next day. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
It was tasty, but did not really blow me away. Will probably make again just because it was easy. I will add more salsa next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
So super yummy. I used 2 cups of chicken broth and subbed one of the cans of beans for corn. It was so delicious I think my husband had 3 servings. Even with the hot salsa it wasn't spicy at all, just wonderfully flavorful. Made the house smell delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This is my new favorite way to eat sweet potatoes! I love all the unique flavors combined together. I ended up having to cook (in the crock pot) for 10 hrs. due to my work schedule, but with 1 can chicken broth, 16 oz. salsa, 1 can black beans and 1 can mexican corn, the chicken and potatoes were still perfectly tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States