Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Yum! I substituted a can of corn for one of the beans, increased the chicken broth, and added extra salsa and spices too. I served with couscous and even my food snob of a husband (who doesn't believe in using a recipe) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was a flavorful way to use up some chicken thighs we had in our freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I cooked this few days ago and it was delicious! I read reviews and amended a little bit as I noticed in one of the reviews: instead of 2 cans of beans I used 1 can of beans and 1 can of corn. I also kind of sautered chicken a little longe as I didn't have 4 hours to cook.:) So, I cooked in 2 hours 15 minutes on HIGH. It was very yummy! Thank you very much. I forwarded this recipe to my friends and will be keeping in my cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was very tasty and easy to make. I had medium salsa so I opted to add some jalepenos for that extra kick. Used 2 cups salsa, only had half the amount of cumin, and upped the chicken broth so it was a bit soupy; still had a great taste though. I spooned this on top of brown rice and served. My daughter, who's not a fan of beans, cleaned her plate; beans and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Good! We love these flavors together, but I will try with chicken breasts next time so it is healthier. Can't beat slow cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
didn't have sweet potatoes or black beans, but with the remaining ingredients, this was glorious!! next time i'll plan ahead better and follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Absolutely delicious! On the advice of other reviews I substituted one can of corn for one can of beans and increased the salsa. I used Newman's Own tequila lime salsa, added a sliced poblano pepper and a sliced onion. Instead of just thighs, I used chicken quarters (legs and thighs). Cooked it on high for 2 hours, then low for another 3 hours. Served this with white rice and broccoli. So good! I've been looking for a latin chicken dish that is similar to the ones served at the hole-in-the-wall cantinas here in south Florida and this is it! It is so good, I can't stop eating even though I'm full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Yum! Served over white rice, topped with chopped avocado. I used bone in thighs and let it cook all day. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Adopted many of the suggestions: extra broth, increased spices. I used 'medium' salsa (the kind with black beans & corn) and the final product still needed more of a kick. I served it with jasmine rice, additional fresh cilantro on top with a dollop of sour cream. Fresh squeezed lime on top is a MUST! Provided warm flour tortillas on the side. I ended up spicing my plate up with a sprinkle of green jalapeno sauce. Chicken thigh meat was sooo tender and really makes this dish special! A really pretty dish - it just needs more zing! Bonus: entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sockmonkey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was surprisingly bland. It smelled terrific, but in the end the flavor just wasn't there. I added the corn, and shredded the chicken in the end. If I make it again, I'd add the cilantro right before serving, and add something to spice it up--jalepenos? Chili powder? Oregano? I don't know, but it really needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States