Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Good! We love these flavors together, but I will try with chicken breasts next time so it is healthier. Can't beat slow cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
didn't have sweet potatoes or black beans, but with the remaining ingredients, this was glorious!! next time i'll plan ahead better and follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Absolutely delicious! On the advice of other reviews I substituted one can of corn for one can of beans and increased the salsa. I used Newman's Own tequila lime salsa, added a sliced poblano pepper and a sliced onion. Instead of just thighs, I used chicken quarters (legs and thighs). Cooked it on high for 2 hours, then low for another 3 hours. Served this with white rice and broccoli. So good! I've been looking for a latin chicken dish that is similar to the ones served at the hole-in-the-wall cantinas here in south Florida and this is it! It is so good, I can't stop eating even though I'm full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Yum! Served over white rice, topped with chopped avocado. I used bone in thighs and let it cook all day. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Adopted many of the suggestions: extra broth, increased spices. I used 'medium' salsa (the kind with black beans & corn) and the final product still needed more of a kick. I served it with jasmine rice, additional fresh cilantro on top with a dollop of sour cream. Fresh squeezed lime on top is a MUST! Provided warm flour tortillas on the side. I ended up spicing my plate up with a sprinkle of green jalapeno sauce. Chicken thigh meat was sooo tender and really makes this dish special! A really pretty dish - it just needs more zing! Bonus: entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sockmonkey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was surprisingly bland. It smelled terrific, but in the end the flavor just wasn't there. I added the corn, and shredded the chicken in the end. If I make it again, I'd add the cilantro right before serving, and add something to spice it up--jalepenos? Chili powder? Oregano? I don't know, but it really needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Very good! After reading reviews, I kind of eyeballed everything and it turned into delicious chili! Pro tip: Taste your salsa BEFORE dumping in the entire jar. Mine turned light your mouth on fire spicy! Next time I'll add more sweet potatoes and corn... and go with a less spicy salsa. This is a very good base recipe with tons of room for creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Greenwood
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I love this recipe. I make it at least every other week. I put in a large can of chicken broth and turn it into a soup. Since I have a hard time finding sweet potatoes, I just use 1-2 cans of sweet potatoes and rinse them well before throwing them in the crock pot. I also substitute boneless skinless chicken breasts and shred the meat prior to serving. I like to throw in a small onion and a cup or two of corn as well. It is a delicious and well balanced meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
this was ok..cooked to the consistency of a hearty stew. used it to stuff burritos with rice and cheese added. didn't use cilantro as my family doesn't eat it (unfortunately) lime is a must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
My family really liked this. I've made it a couple of times, and it never disappoints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States