Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Adopted many of the suggestions: extra broth, increased spices. I used 'medium' salsa (the kind with black beans & corn) and the final product still needed more of a kick. I served it with jasmine rice, additional fresh cilantro on top with a dollop of sour cream. Fresh squeezed lime on top is a MUST! Provided warm flour tortillas on the side. I ended up spicing my plate up with a sprinkle of green jalapeno sauce. Chicken thigh meat was sooo tender and really makes this dish special! A really pretty dish - it just needs more zing! Bonus: entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sockmonkey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was surprisingly bland. It smelled terrific, but in the end the flavor just wasn't there. I added the corn, and shredded the chicken in the end. If I make it again, I'd add the cilantro right before serving, and add something to spice it up--jalepenos? Chili powder? Oregano? I don't know, but it really needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Very good! After reading reviews, I kind of eyeballed everything and it turned into delicious chili! Pro tip: Taste your salsa BEFORE dumping in the entire jar. Mine turned light your mouth on fire spicy! Next time I'll add more sweet potatoes and corn... and go with a less spicy salsa. This is a very good base recipe with tons of room for creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Greenwood
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I love this recipe. I make it at least every other week. I put in a large can of chicken broth and turn it into a soup. Since I have a hard time finding sweet potatoes, I just use 1-2 cans of sweet potatoes and rinse them well before throwing them in the crock pot. I also substitute boneless skinless chicken breasts and shred the meat prior to serving. I like to throw in a small onion and a cup or two of corn as well. It is a delicious and well balanced meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
this was ok..cooked to the consistency of a hearty stew. used it to stuff burritos with rice and cheese added. didn't use cilantro as my family doesn't eat it (unfortunately) lime is a must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
My family really liked this. I've made it a couple of times, and it never disappoints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Very Yummy, even the kids liked it. I followed the recipe to a tee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edwardsfamily5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
These flavors real come together, delicious. I only had 6 chicken thighs ( 1 1/2 lb.) I cut all the ingredients in half, still a whole teaspoon of cumin was too strong. Like other reviewers I added extra broth and it needed it. After browning the chicken I deglazed the pan and used the drippings and an extra 1/2 cup of chicken broth. The sweet potatoes were good but next time I think I'll use white. Thanks Upstate NY cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Fabulous! I used different beans and I put in pumpkin. This was just delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmtroch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Easy and savory. Used skinless legs & thighs, my homemade canned salsa and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States