Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This was fantastic! I used medium salsa instead of hot (as I don't like too much spice). I also added the corn as others did. My husband told me to add this to the rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
One of my favorites. I always add a can of corn to recipe. Serve it over steamed rice, it's a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I didn't have allspice so didn't add it and it turned out delicious. I also didn't brown the chicken first and cooked on low for about 8-9 hours. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This is a winner - exceptionally tasty, easy to make, and good for you. I have made it for family and guests and it has been DEVOURED by everyone. Although I made a few changes to the recipe, I did NOT add additional broth. One of the beauties of slow cooking is that only a tiny amount of liquid is added. The meat and vegetables release their juices during the long, slow cooking and produce an extremely flavorful broth. I think that adding extra broth only dilutes the flavor. I also added 2 or 3 times the amount of fresh cilantro and did NOT brown the cilantro with the chicken, just sprinkled it in the slow cooker. In fact, I did not brown the chicken at all and detected no decrease of flavor. Be sure not to use boneless thighs. The bones add lots of flavor and can easily be removed before serving. At the recommendation of others, I also added a can of drained corn. Because we love it, we used 3 lg. sweet potatoes and both cans of black beans. Cook on slow for 8-10 hours and on high for at least 4 or 5 hours. Do early in the day and allow dish to "rest" for maximum flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This recipe turned out really great...only gave it 4 stars because I modified per the other reviews. I used about 1.5 cups of chicken stock and a little more than a cup of salsa. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I used one can of black beans and 1 can of corn. I also used 1 sweet potato and several yellow potatoes. I did not have enough salsa, so I used 1 can of Rotel and 1/3 cup salsa. It was excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RENEESSELAH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlessedBaker
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I used frozen chicken tenderloins since they were on sale BOGO and added corn as some other reviewers suggested. I also added a 1/2 cup extra of broth as others were commenting on not enough liquid. I ended up with too much...maybe because I put the chicken in frozen? If I make this again I will not add extra. I will wait until the closer to the end to add the cilantro or at least part of it so it is not so soggy and has a bit more intense flavor. I put this in the slow cooker for about 4 hours on high. All in all it tasted good and looked great...wasn't a family favorite though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Great slow-cooker recipe! At first I was nervous about the sweet potatoes because they are not a favorite of my husbands but he loved this recipe. I doubled the sauce and added 1/4 cup of yellow onions. It was delicious and even better the next day as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Same as a lot of people, husband hates sweet potatoes but loved this. I served this to some people and they thought it was fancy! Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Made it to the tee. However, realized the beans were not covered in the broth and were drying out (as other's had warned). So, I doubled the broth mixture. The recipe was good but not great. I served with corn tortillas as well as just over rice. Good for feeding a crowd-- made a ton, but not great. However, one of my guest adored it and took all the leftovers home. I was just hoping for the flavors to pop more, especially since lime juice usually does the trick and didn't in this case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 81-90 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States