Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
i tried it yesterday and i absolutely loved it. i am going to share it with my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Added: corn, dice tomatoes, green bell pepper, fresh cilantro and onion as garnish It's not often that sweet potatoes find their way into my kitchen, but this recipe was too simple and too highly rated to pass up. Instead of chicken thigh, we used chicken breast and skipped the browning process. After 3.5 hours on high the potato was soft enough and the chicken was fully cooked (but not dry). Next time I'll try to reduce the sodium content by nixing the salsa for more diced tomatoes and jalapenos or chile peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This has a fantastic flavor! I broke my golden rule, I changed the original recipe based on a few reviews & the picture. It looks dry so I followed reviewers suggestions-wrong ( now I'm about to let you make up your own mind whether or not you want to try my changes), I wasn't looking for soup. Some of the changes I will keep: chicken breasts cut into strips; all cilantro chopped, the 2nd one increased to 1/2 cup;2 red bell peppers chopped; 1/2 cup hot sauce-why scorch your taste buds when you can always add more at the table (Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce-Asian section grocery store); 1 Tbsp cumin; 1 tsp allspice; 6 garlic cloves; 1 Tbsp salt-added to the mixture poured over the top. I'm not big on sweet potatoes/yams (sweet potatoes are yellowish & firm, yams are redder & soft-not much difference in flavor) but this needs 2, they add to the overall flavor...just my 2 cents-the consciences of the table was, serve with lime, chopped cilantro, sour cream, chopped onion, etc. I server with rice- Janis Morris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Perfect! I made no adjustments each time. Always moist and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This recipe is delicious. We served it over rice with grated cheese. Just make sure to chop your sweet potatoes into smallish chunks, as the ones I left on the bigger side were still firmer than desired. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetCheeksGF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This recipe is delicious! I used bone-in chicken thighs, used 1/2 sweet potato and 1/2 russet (since my husband doesn't like sweet potatoes), and served over the "Quinoa and Black Beans" recipe on Allrecipes.com. Just enough heat to make it tasty, but still delicious. I've made this a couple times already and will be making again in the future. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I LOVE this recipe!! Tip 1: The first step is really optional...as a time-saver, I will either just put the chicken in OR at the most I will pre-toss the chicken in a bowl with the salt/pepper/olive oil/cilantro -- but I don't pre-brown it. Tip 2: To make it healthier, I always make this with boneless skinless chicken breasts (vs. thighs) and it is still delicious. The chicken shreds up a little bit and it's still extremely flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I tried this recipe yesterday and it was quite tasty. I didn't have fresh salso so I used a can of Rotel, added a can of corn, added a packet of Sazon, and doubled the chicken broth. I was skeptical about the sweet potatoes prior to making this dish but I now see that it is imperative to use them as they add a special twist to the meal. I will definitely make this again ;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This was such a great change in the normal routine of meals. Everyoe liked it and will fix again and again. In fact, i have been asked to fix it again. I used mild salsa which was plenty tasteful to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I make this recipe so much I know it by heart. I make the following changes....I only use I can of beans, use mild salsa or sometimes even peach, lots of extra sweet potatoes and I add canned crushed tomatoes. With the addition of the tomatoes, I don't usually need the chicken broth. The sauce in the end is so rich and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States