Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is hands down my favorite crock pot dinner! I recommend doubling the sauce like others commented, however, I didn't double the cumin or allspice and it was perfect. Also, like others, I used one can of black black and then cut fresh corn off one cob. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This has instantly become one of our favorites. I omit the red/green peppers for my wife. I also ease up on the cilantro. I don't use it while browning the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
good, didn't blow me away though. simple, quick and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I used chicken legs (what I had),can of white beans (also what I had), some corn I froze, actually put lime juice in, made salsa (Fresh Salsa on here, added garlic), added half a hot pepper. After it was cooking 6 hours I took the chicken off the bone and tasted the sauce and it seemed it was missing something. I then added poultry seasoning, cinnamo,n salt and pepper. Tasted it again and it was spot on! Served over rice cooked in chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Wow! This was deliciously exotic! I accidentally added ground cloves instead of cumin and it was still fantastic. I am definitely making this again. Next time I'll make it as directed with cumin! We served it over rice and added more liquid than was called for, but we like it soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
i tried it yesterday and i absolutely loved it. i am going to share it with my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Added: corn, dice tomatoes, green bell pepper, fresh cilantro and onion as garnish It's not often that sweet potatoes find their way into my kitchen, but this recipe was too simple and too highly rated to pass up. Instead of chicken thigh, we used chicken breast and skipped the browning process. After 3.5 hours on high the potato was soft enough and the chicken was fully cooked (but not dry). Next time I'll try to reduce the sodium content by nixing the salsa for more diced tomatoes and jalapenos or chile peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This has a fantastic flavor! I broke my golden rule, I changed the original recipe based on a few reviews & the picture. It looks dry so I followed reviewers suggestions-wrong ( now I'm about to let you make up your own mind whether or not you want to try my changes), I wasn't looking for soup. Some of the changes I will keep: chicken breasts cut into strips; all cilantro chopped, the 2nd one increased to 1/2 cup;2 red bell peppers chopped; 1/2 cup hot sauce-why scorch your taste buds when you can always add more at the table (Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce-Asian section grocery store); 1 Tbsp cumin; 1 tsp allspice; 6 garlic cloves; 1 Tbsp salt-added to the mixture poured over the top. I'm not big on sweet potatoes/yams (sweet potatoes are yellowish & firm, yams are redder & soft-not much difference in flavor) but this needs 2, they add to the overall flavor...just my 2 cents-the consciences of the table was, serve with lime, chopped cilantro, sour cream, chopped onion, etc. I server with rice- Janis Morris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Perfect! I made no adjustments each time. Always moist and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This recipe is delicious. We served it over rice with grated cheese. Just make sure to chop your sweet potatoes into smallish chunks, as the ones I left on the bigger side were still firmer than desired. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetCheeksGF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States