Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
In a word, AWESOME! I used medium salsa and red beans. I also doubled the amount of salsa and used 4 chicken leg quarters, red beans instead of black, additional chicken broth and cooked it several hours longer than the 4 listed. I also left the skin on the chicken which I prefer. Next time I may reduce the broth because there was a lot of liquid left over but it was amazing! So good! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I really liked this dish but my family wasn't as thrilled. Partly because I cooked it for 6 hours on low and it turned out quite mushy. I was a little nervous about doing 4 hrs on low b/c my slow cooker says to cook things on low for 8-10 hrs. So, I went with 6 and it was too long. Only thing I did different was use one can of corn in place of one of the cans of black beans. My salsa was mild too. I used boneless skinless thighs (which were a little more difficult to find in the store) but it was really good verses using chicken breast. Next time I would dice the red pepper instead of slice it. I was also a little generous on my broth and salsa measuring to be sure it didn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Too many ingredients to be so lacking in flavor. I followed the directions to the T and like previous reviewers, added a bit more broth to the crockpot. It was really bland and required so many prep work that it spoiled the ease of crockpot cooking. Won't be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Followed the suggestions and doubled the liquid. In addition, I added red potatoes. Overall this dish is DELICIOUS and a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by South Carolina Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I loved the taste and how easy it was to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Very good and perfect for these fall days. I ddin't brown the chicken first just placed in pot, salt and pepper and then the 1/4 c of cilantro and proceeded as per recipe with 2 changes: subbed i can corn for 1 can of black beans and doubled the sauce. I cooked on low for 7 hours. It cam out a bit like a stew with the extra liquid bit that was fine to serve with rice. The medium salsa still gave it a nice kick. One comment, though, after the 7 hours the sweet potatoes were just done. If you were cooking less time they would really need to be cut very small. Delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Great recipe! I added a little more chicken broth and a little garlic s salt; also I used chicken legs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Loved this dish, simple ingredients and easy prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I loved this! I cooked it for 6 hours because it fit my work/gym schedule. haha. I didn't brown the chicken first because slow-cooker to me means just throw it all in there and leave it alone. Also, I realized I had no all spice. :( But I googled a substitute and mixed some cloves, nutmeg and cinnamon together and it worked because the spices were perfect. And the kicker...it's super healthy!! Thanks for the easy, healthy and more importantly TASTY recipe. Chicken just fell apart. **Oh as others said, I doubled the liquid to ensure everything was well covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This was fantastic. I used ~2 lbs of frozen chicken thighs, placed directly in the slow cooker (no thawing/browning) and followed other reviewers' suggestions to double the seasonings and broth. Also tossed in some frozen corn. It turned out hearty, thick, and delicious. I've served this with rice, pasta, and cornbread -- all great. The sweet potatoes really make the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States