Slow Cooker Latin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Very good taste, I would just recommend using chunky salsa. Chunkier the better. I pretty much made the recipe as it said, other than the beef stock-didn't have chicken. Turned out great. Can't wait to taste the left overs tomorrow. I am sure their will be even more intense flavours tomorrow. Mmm... Very good. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Loved it! I didn't plug in the slow cooker properly so I lost precious hours in slow cooking this. I simmered on low on the stovetop for about 45 mins and it was perfect. The sauce was a bit thin so I added a can of tomato paste to it which did the trick nicely (I had doubled the recipe) and I don't like soft bell peppers so I added them just a few minutes before serving. I also added some corn. Fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This was very good! A little too hot for me, but still delicious. Next time I will use a mld salsa. I really did not need rice with the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I made this last night for the first time and it was AMAZING! It is so different from anything I have ever had before. I was a little unsure how I would like the sweet potatoes in it, but found out that it is the sweet potatoes that really make the dish really good. The only modifications I made, was I added a little Chili Powder (we like spicy foods)and a can of corn (drained). Our youngest child was not a huge fan, but the rest of us were. I will definitely make this again, and just make something different for my youngest child. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
This was excellent. I agree that with corn chips or tacos, the contrasting texture would be excellent. Also, if you go with mild salsa, don't skip the fresh cilantro and lime, these make the dish. If you make it mild for the kiddos, consider passing spicier salsa or hot sauce at the table. I made it with 1 large jar store brand mild salsa (2 cups) and extra chicken broth, per suggestions. I cooked on top of stove because I ran out of time and it was great. I also skipped red pepper because we don't like it much. If you wanted vegan, just skip the chicken and stick with both cans of black beans. GREAT dish, I plan to bring to large family event in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This is a great slow cooker recipe. My favorite part is all the colors...so many crock pot recipes come out looking all the same color :) 4 hours was perfect for juicy delicious chicken, and not-mushy veggies. My only change was to leave out the cilantro (this is strictly due to my extreme frugality...) in the summer when I can snip some off my plant, I will be gobbing it on! Thank you so much for this delicious recipe, UpsateNYCooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
My family loved this recipe, however I did make a few changes when I made it. I didn't care for the idea of rice and sweet potatoes, so I omitted the rice. I made it into more of a soup instead just by added more broth and some water. With it being a slow cooker meal, and the point of it being so being that I can put it all in and let it cook itself, the next time ill omit the stovetop cooking portion. I suggest just seasoning the chicken thighs with salt and pepper and throwing them in the cooker. Before serving just take the chicken out and cut it off the bone. I did that and the chicken just slide right off if I remember correctly. My family generally loves spicy food, but for some reason everybody said this was a bit too spicy. So instead ill try medium salsa or a mixture of medium and mild. Mmm can't wait to make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
My 4 yr old said this was seriously delicious! The pickiest eater of the 5. Use whatever beans you like, substitute as it fits your taste, and this will be delicious regardless. Just don't forget to salt/season your chicken BEFORE you place it in the bottom of the crockpot!! Keep the seasonings and the chicken stock. Everything else can be substituted for something else and will still taste great. I didnt use fresh cilantro, used navy beans, no peppers and mild salsa. I didn't pan fry it first either (no need)...If I need a crockpot meal, then I definitely don't have time for that. Try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiiMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I never wanted to be one of those people who review a recipe by listing all the changes they made to it but...I didn't have any cilantro. Or cumin. And this recipe was still FANTASTIC! I have never made something so tasty from my crockpot. I don't know how anyone could say this was bland unless they have a medical condition they don't know about involving their tastebuds or they used very bad ingredients. I read a lot of the reviews and decided to take the suggestion of adding a can of corn instead of two beans, adding 1/2 c more broth, and a bay leaf. Other than that, as directed except for the cilantro and cumin issues I mentioned. I used Tajin instead of the cumin. I cooked 3 hours on high and the chicken was tender and falling apart. Served with a dollop of sour cream. My new comfort food. WE LOVED THIS RECIPE, THANK YOU! And thanks to all for the suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Mine turned out OK but it was bland. The only thing I did differently was substitute the hot salsa with medium salsa (since I don't like it very hot). I also made this in a 4 quart slow cooker and the ingredients barely fit. I may try and make this again by halfing the recipe to see if it turns out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States