Slow-Cooker Lasagne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Im giving this a 5 star but only because I took others advice before making and made these changes. I used 1/2 sweet Italian sausage, 1/2 ground beef. I added 1/2 onion and 1 tbl spoon garlic to the meat. I also used pasta sauce with green pepper. I added some oregano about 1/2 tsp to the cheese mixture. This came out awesome and great flavor. Take advice and add some more flavor of your choice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was a decent starter recipe, but definitely needs some changes. I agree that you should mix in some italian sausage because the beef just gets waaay too dry otherwise. Conversely, you could brown the beef but not too much, just enough to make it manageable, and then let it finish cooking in the slow cooker (but adding fully cooked beef and cooking four hours is not a good idea!) I used a half cup of water to avoid it getting soggy but to allow for moisture enough to cook the noodles. Also increased the amount of sauce to allow for more moisture, esp since i reduced the water amount. Used more cheese too cuz i like it cheesy. Honestly the appeal of this recipe is the joy of having lasagne without having to stick it in the over and wait an hour or more to eat it after a full days' work, however prep-wise it's just as easy to make a real lasagne, and you can get those ready to use noodles so you don't have to cook them in advance. I recommend this recipe for working families who want a lasagne but don't want to have to wait til after you've popped on in the oven. Also you'll want to pam your slow cooker to avoid sticking, and do NOT do anything higher than low or it'll burn baby burn. Oh yeah, and of course you need more spices. I used basil, oregano, and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This lasagna turned out surprisingly well in the slow cooker. I only gave it four stars because I feel that, while it is a good base lasagna, it needs a little bit more pizazz. Next time I make it I might do one or more of the following: Substitute bulk italian sausage for the ground beef, add garlic and/or italian seasoning & fennel to the meat as it's cooking, add a vegetable such as spinach or zucchini to one of the layers, don't go cheap on the pasta sauce, and add more cheese on top. I cooked this lasagna for a little over 4 hours and it was starting to get a little bit charred on the bottom. 6 hours definitely would have been disastrous, though I suppose it depends on your slow cooker. Lastly, I substituted cottage cheese for the ricotta and no one noticed a difference and I used dried parsley since that was what I had on hand. I will definitely be making this recipe again; it was delicious to come home to the smell of lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Wasn't sure how this would turn out but it was fantastic! Used low fat cottage cheese instead of ricotta and couldn't tell the difference. Added 2 links of italian sausage , squeezed out of the casing and broken up in the pan and 1 T minced garlic. Actually used about 8 noodles and used the full cup of water, cooked on low for 3.5 hours, topped with remaining cheese and cooked another 30 minutes. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great meal to have ready for you at home after working all day. Made it with garlic bread and salad. I used ground turkey because we don't eat red meat in our house - turned out great! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This is a tasty lasagne. However, I've made it twice in the slow cooker and both times it came out soggy. The noodles that is. I'll continue to cook this, however, I won't cook it all day long. Even 2 hrs on low was too long. I will also skip the water. I found it added to the sogginess. Good though, so that's why I'm still eating it and gave it a good rating :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
loved it! added pepperoni, mushrooms, and onion to the hamburger after draining. everyone loved it and it made the house smell great. also, didnt use the water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vintigevixin89

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Made as written. Love not having to cook noodles beforehand. Very little leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doggymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This tasted to me like something out of a can. And, I doctored it up with Italian sausage and green pepper. I think that the lasagne noodles were just way too soft for my taste and it was just bland in general. I don't think you can really make lasagne in a slow-cooker...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Araki
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
If you have a low, wide cooker it works even better than with a taller cooker. But regardless of the crockpot used, the smell will drive you wild with anticipation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States