Slow-Cooker Lasagne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This is a good base recipe, but after reading the ingredients list, I decided to doctor it up a bit. I sauteed some chopped onion and minced garlic with the ground beef and added Italian seasoning. I also used a bit more ricotta and added a pinch of ground nutmeg. I got side-tracked while the lasagna hit the 4 hour mark, and actually let it cook for 6 hours. The result was tasty but a bit mushy, the lasagna noodles left with not much texture at all. So, I would definitely recommend cooking it for only the 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Very good. I made it in my 6 quart Hamilton Beach Set-N-Forget, and there was a lot of empty space in the pot. Next time I might try doubling the recipe and repeating the layering, so it's twice as deep. I cooked for 4 hours on low, and it was getting pretty crispy around the edges. I'm thinking 3 hours may have even been the right amount of time, or perhaps cooking on Warm (this cooker has three settings . . . Warm, Low, and High).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
it was ok. Wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I love my slow cooker and am looking for more ideas. Love this idea but miss having the melted/burned cheese on top that you can achieve in the oven. Also, I seasoned the ground beef heavily (Italian seasoning, crushed fennel seed, salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder, oregano). The cheese mixture was good but needed more seasoning (maybe salt, pepper, dried basil and oregano). The big mistake I made was using cheap sauce. I always make homemade sauces so I don't know much about jars of sauce and what to buy. I figured I would go with the well known brand that starts with an R....since I knew there wouldn't be tomato chunks that my young kids would not like. That sauce is too bland for me. Next time, I'll hopefully find something better or just use my own, frozen, homemade sauce. I think it could use more noodles (maybe add another layer in there??). I think the addition of Italian sausage would be a good one! I just wasn't willing to spend the money on a dish I wasn't sure we'd like. I will definitely make this again, because I just LOVE having dinner complete at the end of a day but I will modify it next time. Lastly, I cooked it on low for 2 hrs and on high for 2. Not anywhere near burned. It could even go a couple of more hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This recipe is absolutely fabulous! We love Lasagna at my house, but the traditional way of cooking it takes SO long! Discovering this recipe was wonderful, its amazing that it never occurred to me to do this and to leave the noodles uncooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Good, even as leftovers the next day. Needed more red sauce to have the right flavor in our opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
It tasted great. I substitued the ground beef with sausage. I did not have ricotta cheese, so I used cottage cheese. I do not suggest cooking it longer than 4 1/2 hours, because my noodles were overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I substituted spicy Italian sausage for the beef and there was no blandness here. Was ready at around 3 hours. Very good and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFlott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I made this recipe as written and it was very good. I considered using Italian sausage instead of beef (since that's how you make REAL lasagna, IMO), but the Italian sausage was too expensive so I used beef. The lasagna still turned out very tasty and would, I think, be even better with bulk Italian sausage. The pasta sauce I had on hand had green peppers and onions so that worked well. This recipe was also a good way to use up the few leftover lasagna noodles I always have after making regular lasagna. The only problem I had with the recipe is that it's not a good slow cooker recipe for someone who works full time, which is kind of the point of slow cookers. I had to make it on the weekend because I can't run home to set up and plug in the slow cooker at lunch. I cooked this on low for 5 hours, but much longer would have meant burnt lasagna. For many slow cooker recipes, you can let them go for 8-10 hours at a time which = plug in, leave for work, come home, eat. Can't do that with this one so, in the end, prepping a regular lasagna (about the same amount of prep as this recipe) over the weekend, freezing it, thawing later in the fridge while you're at work, and popping in the oven when you get home is less time intensive. No need to sit around the house for 4-6 hours on a weekend while it cooks. But if you can run home and turn on your slow cooker halfway thru the day, this is a great recipe. And it is a great way to use up those extra lasagna noodles. Makes a lot too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Review from my husband: a lasagne lover, "I would give it 3.5 stars. Surprisingly good lasagne for coming from a crock pot. I just like my cheese more crispy-brown." I did add the extras that others suggested - easy to make, nice to come home to something other than a pot roast in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States