Slow-Cooker Lasagne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I did this in my 7 qt slow cooker using the recipe exactly. After 2 hours (thankfully, I was home) I smelled the burning smell of the sauce. When these recipes are written the size of the slow cooker is relevant. It appears the large size of my slow cooker made the two layers too thin to cook in the time instructed. I removed the inside liner immediately and am waiting to see if this is a big waste of time and money. Further instruction designating cooker size would have been helpful, afterall, this site is not for professionals but amatures and beginners. Not happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niftytoo
Home Town: Rifle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Tastes good but when finished it was just a pot of mush. I cooked some additional pasta and mixed with it so I wouldn't waste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
great dish, to make it easier on yourself, use oven ready lasagna noodles. and just add some water to the sides of the crockpot. enough, where you can see it. fast and easy, and most of all delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Just the thought of Lasagna in a slow cooker sounded criminal to me. I love Lasagna and thought I would have to give it a try. I doubled all the ingredients, used a mixture of Parmesan, Mozarella and pepper jack cheese. I added onion and garlic also to the beef when cooking. and 1 cup of half and half to the cheese mixture as it looked way to thick. The Lasagna cooked well in the slow cooker and actually looked appealing even though it didn't have the usual golden melted cheese crust! I actually did not actually like the texture it just seemed to dry. I am not sure I will be making this again, if so I will do some research to see what else I can do to make it taste more like my usual oven lasagna. Glad I experimented!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This was good but I think I should have used my bigger slow cooker. I prefer my regular lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This is a good base recipe, but after reading the ingredients list, I decided to doctor it up a bit. I sauteed some chopped onion and minced garlic with the ground beef and added Italian seasoning. I also used a bit more ricotta and added a pinch of ground nutmeg. I got side-tracked while the lasagna hit the 4 hour mark, and actually let it cook for 6 hours. The result was tasty but a bit mushy, the lasagna noodles left with not much texture at all. So, I would definitely recommend cooking it for only the 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Very good. I made it in my 6 quart Hamilton Beach Set-N-Forget, and there was a lot of empty space in the pot. Next time I might try doubling the recipe and repeating the layering, so it's twice as deep. I cooked for 4 hours on low, and it was getting pretty crispy around the edges. I'm thinking 3 hours may have even been the right amount of time, or perhaps cooking on Warm (this cooker has three settings . . . Warm, Low, and High).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
it was ok. Wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I love my slow cooker and am looking for more ideas. Love this idea but miss having the melted/burned cheese on top that you can achieve in the oven. Also, I seasoned the ground beef heavily (Italian seasoning, crushed fennel seed, salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder, oregano). The cheese mixture was good but needed more seasoning (maybe salt, pepper, dried basil and oregano). The big mistake I made was using cheap sauce. I always make homemade sauces so I don't know much about jars of sauce and what to buy. I figured I would go with the well known brand that starts with an R....since I knew there wouldn't be tomato chunks that my young kids would not like. That sauce is too bland for me. Next time, I'll hopefully find something better or just use my own, frozen, homemade sauce. I think it could use more noodles (maybe add another layer in there??). I think the addition of Italian sausage would be a good one! I just wasn't willing to spend the money on a dish I wasn't sure we'd like. I will definitely make this again, because I just LOVE having dinner complete at the end of a day but I will modify it next time. Lastly, I cooked it on low for 2 hrs and on high for 2. Not anywhere near burned. It could even go a couple of more hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This recipe is absolutely fabulous! We love Lasagna at my house, but the traditional way of cooking it takes SO long! Discovering this recipe was wonderful, its amazing that it never occurred to me to do this and to leave the noodles uncooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States