Slow Cooker Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Many other reviewers have noted that - as written - the lasagna needs to be watched carefully for appropriate cook time. That pretty much negates the benefit of a crockpot approach for me (I prefer to just start the food, then not worry about it.) What the recipe is really missing is WATER. Before assembling, mix your tomato sauce with equal parts water. Use that as your tomato mixture. With the extra water, the recipe won't turn out as dry. It will take longer to cook - about 6-8 hours on low. The benefit there is you can pretty much go to work, run errands, etc. while your food cooks. Now it makes sense as a crockpot recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1675 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
We really enjoyed this!! I did some playing around with it as others have. Replaced the cottage cheese with Ricotta and I used more tomato sauce and paste to make more of the sauce as I have one of the old crockpots that's just huge. I also put in some Italian seasoning and some roasted garlic. Just make sure that all your noodles are covered with the sauce and it will come out just great. The time was a little different for me too. It only took about 4 1/2 to 5 hours in my pot, but you have to remember that all crockpots are not the same, the size and shape can change the timing a great deal. I've made this twice now and it has come out wonderful both times. I serve it with Mama D's Italian bread (from this site) and a salad and what a meal!! Thanks Kim for a great way to make homemade lasagna without all the fuss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
713 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This turned out very well! Delicious and filling. Of course, I had to read the reviews before attempting this. First, yes, do away with the salt entirely. The pasta sauce will have enough of it. Second, to make the cheese mixture easier to spread (I substituted fat-free ricotta for cottage cheese), add a slightly beaten egg. Finally, make sure that you are using oven-ready/no-boil lasagna noodles (don't cook them beforehand) instead of the regular kind. They will absorb the liquids and therefore cook on their own. It really does depend on your pot, but my lasagna cooked in just under four hours. The sides were slightly burned (but I like it that way... and I'm thankful I sprayed the pot with Pam before adding the ingredients). Next time I think I might add some drained canned mushrooms to the sauce to make sure that I get my serving of vegetables, since I will definitely make this again (no more Stouffer's for me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
552 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coctilis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
If all items are preassembled and put in the 'fridge the night before, it needs to only be in the slow cooker for half the recommended time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
This is such a hit! I have made it several times before and people always ask for the recipe. Today was the first time I brought it to work and everyone raved about it. Normally, I follow the recipe, but this time I added a big jar of Ragu to the hamburger, onion, and garlic. I add extra mozzarella on top in the last hour so it is cheesier on top. I also cooked it for 1 hour on low and 2 1/2 hours on high and it was wonderful. The noodles were just right. I will continue to make this often. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
We did a lot of changes but loved it. We used Ricotta cheese instead of cottage, used fresh basil in the sauce mixture, added jar sauce over the top of the filled crock pot and topped off with some of the saved mozzeralla cheese the last 30 minutes. This is easy and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I substituted 2-jars of spaghetti sauce for the tomatoes, onions and garlic. Added minced garlic (from the jar), oregano, italian seasoning and salt to taste. Also, I added italian sausage to the hamburger. It came out delicious, but a bit overcooked at 8-hours in the crock pot. Next time I will adjust to 6-hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
I hated this lasagne. It was VERY salty and I saw no benefit to cooking it in the slow cooker. No time was saved. It's faster to cook lasagne in the oven and the taste was lacking. I'll stick with my tried and true lasagne recipe from Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
I cheated and cooked it for three hours on high and one hour on low heat. It turned out fantastic! My 2 year old gobbled this up! I will definently be making this again and again. Thanks so much for this recipe!! Be careful, it will boil out the top if your crock isn't big enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Delicious and perfect. I feel it's a good idea to read every review if possible, at least skim them, because everyone's crockpot and experience is different and you can avoid costly mistakes. I did that and was able to make the adjustments that made this dish turn out wonderful. This was the first dish I made in my new 6-quart slow cooker (call me lasagna lover). I used 3 cups jarred spaghetti sauce, 1 cup water, and half a can diced tomatoes in juice because I had it left over from another day. I added an egg to the ricotta and used minced dried onion instead of a fresh one, and garlic powder. Also added some Italian spices, not too much, and no salt. I used 12 oz. whole wheat lasagna, the regular kind, not precooked. I cooked the whole dish on low for EXACTLY 4 hours, and it turned out heavenly. I think a lot of the problem of dry, chewy noodles comes from overcooking...do not be tempted to keep on cooking. Cover the noodles in sauce and mozzarella, and you will be fine. I didn't use the high setting at all. Will repeat often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweepea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States