Slow Cooker Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
First off,I am a crockpot novice but tried this because my husband wouldn't eat vegetable lasagna and I was determined to use our new crockpot! Five doubting adults later there is not even a hint of lasagna for leftovers,and several requests for the recipe! Scanned many of the comments for the always helpful suggestions and did the following in my oval five quart pot: a little sauce after I sprayed with a nonstick olive oil;two full noodles laid across and about a quarter noodle on either side of the two. I had "frosted" each noodle with a mix of a 15oz. container of Italian ricotta,1 egg, and a half cup each of freshly shredded mozzarella and parmesan,threw in Italian seasoning mix and garlic powder,to taste. Then a layer of meat sauce,made from the two jars of sauce and a combo of a half pound of Jimmy Dean spicy sausage and a half pound of lean ground beef. Continued layering my frosted noodles with the meat sauce until ending with the last of the sauce,didn't even fill pot,so you could easily make recipe larger. Cooked on low three hours and forgot to top with the additional cheese in the last five minutes,that would have been even yummier! I used the cheapest sauce on sale at the grocery,basil garlic flavored,and my only other spices were what I added to the ricotta mixture. Used a slotted spoon to plate and everyone got a nice presentation of layers! Will tweak with other add ins and spices but can already highly recommend this one,it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Braman-Duarte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Ridiculously easy to make. I agree, cook for less time. I set it for 3 hours on low and I think it would have been fine at even 2 or 2.5. I also added layers of sliced zucchini and used two different kinds of pasta sauce: tomato basil and vodka sauce. Since I used the latter I was able to use less cheese. So yummy and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was tasty! I followed the recipe for the most part only substituting some ground beef for half the sausage and a bit more ricotta with less mozzarella. A few tips: I tried layering this like a traditional lasagna. While it cooked the liquid from the pasta sauce rose to the top. I thought the whole pot was going to be a soupy mess but I stirred it a couple times during cooking and that helped redistribute the liquid. Also, if you decide to layer the recipe then only use a SINGLE layer of lasagna noodles for each noodle layer, don't overlap them a lot otherwise they will become gummy and not cook properly. Next time I make this I'll just toss it all in the pot and stir not bothering to layer it and see if this takes care of these 2 minor issues. All in all a hearty, filling recipe that is more healthful than most "add a can 'o soup" crockpot meals that can be made even more so with the substitution of a few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Very easy, will make again, however next time I will add more seasonings it tasted a little bland. Also use a oval crock pot instead of round, all the ingredients fit in better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This was really quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya Howell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I used a little more ricotta than called for, a little less mozzarealla, a little less sauce (four cheese was tasty!), and extra minced garlic along with other Italian seasonings. Next time I'll remember to add black olives, too!! * Everyone loved it!! * leftovers only get better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This was great! My two-year-old loved it, which makes it a definite keeper. We are vegetarian, so I replaced the sausage with one cup of TVP. I also had to add another half jar of sauce at the end of cooking since it was getting a bit dry. I omitted some of the cheese, and I used cottage cheese instead of ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This is easy and delicious! Didn't change a thing. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mavis Tobin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
So Good and hardly any clean-up. I used regular noodles and par-boiled them. Also, I added fresh spinach and mushrooms! Delicious!! It was done in 3 hours on LOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
yum! I had to share this with coworkers when they saw my leftovers at lunch. I would ADD more sauce in the last 30 mins of cooking next time to keep it from getting dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States