Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Well, it only took me 30 years to find the definitive receipe for pork and sauerkraut...this recipe is great!! I followed the advice of many of the other reviewers on here by adding 2 large, sliced, granny smith apples, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, and 2 16-ounce jars of sauerkraut. My crock pot seems to need extra help with roasts, so I cooked mine for roughly six hours on low with an additional four hours on high. The meat was falling-apart-tender, and the kraut had just the right amount of sweet and sour to it...served this with garlic mashed potatoes. Looking forward to the leftovers tonight! Thank you for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I went looking for a recipe for pork and sauerkraut to see if I was missing any ingrediants in my recipe that I've been making on New Years Day every year for 25 years. Well, here is my recipe! The only changes I make personally is that I start the stuff on New Years Eve before we go to bed and let it cook all night and all day before we eat it. I add brown sugar to take the bite away from the kraut (about 2 tablespoons). The longer it cooks, the better. It gets nice and browned and my family loves this once a year treat. We serve with mashed potatoes and applesauce and dinner rolls. This is THE lucky New Years Day dish to be served for good fortune. Even better reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Wow! This is definitely a New Year's Day tradition. Being from Pennsylvania, I had to make this. It was excellent. I took one 16 oz. bag of Boar's Head Sauerkraut and layered that on the bottom. Then sprinkled some of the caraway seeds and put the pork in with some salt, pepper, and a little brown sugar. I cut up a large granny smith apple and put that over the pork and then added the other bag of sauerkraut and sprinkled some more caraway seeds. I added just a little bit of water and set the crock pot on low for 8 hours. The pork was falling apart. It went great with Suzy's Mashed Red Potatoes and some sweet peas and for dessert Nutty Apple Crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
YUM! Made me feel like I was back in Pennsylvania again. My mom would would also brown the pork first and add 1/2 of an onion, thinly sliced and approx. 1 to 2 tablespoons of barbecue sauce to the sauerkraut. It adds a smokey flavor and a nice color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Yummy but the 5th star is for how easy this is. I used a whole boneless pork loin that was marinated with onion and garlic (thanks to Costco). Like others, I added 1/2 can beer, 2 tbsps brown sugar and 2 granny smith apples. Also doubled the kraut and caraway seeds(next time I'll do even more). Quartered the apples; didn't add them until 3 hours in or they cook into mush. I've made with and without apples and prefer the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I felt like I was back in PA for the New Year. Thanks for the great recipe! I loved the flavor of the caraway seeds and used two Granny Smith apples and 2 T. brown sugar as previously recommended. I also added dumplings on top during the last few minutes of cooking... 1 1/3 c. flour, 1/2 t. salt (cannot omit), 2 t. baking powder, 1 egg, and 1/2 c. milk. You cannot have sauerkraut without dumplings in PA. Most tender pork roast I have ever cooked and enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Good recipe, I added two apples to cut down on the bitterness of the kraut, and browned the pork roast before putting it in the crock pot.Try toasting the caraway seeds,and then add for the last hour, this seems to bring out more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
This was quite delicious, the only thing I did different was to brown my pork roast before putting it in the slow cooker, otherwise it was the best roast,tender,moist,and just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
WE are from PA and love pork and sauerkraut. I buy the WHOLE boneless pork loin, and cut it in half, and use what I need depending on how many are eating here. I do NOT brown it, but I do add 1 - 2 apples, cored, w/ skin on and cut into wedges and about 2 - 3 T brown sugar after I add the sauerkraut, that I do NOT drain. I also like to add homemade hot sausage in the roaster. I bake mine covered -- and I like to do it very slow and at a low temp....starting off at 300 and reducing to 250. YUM YUM!!!!! We also like ours w/ mashed potatoes and applesauce!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Good Recipe, Everyone liked the flavor. I did add 1/2 can of Beer to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States