Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
My husband said this was "superb!" He said he wouldn't mind eating this once a week! I followed some of the advice - adding brown sugar and some apple slices. I had to scale everything down a bit because I only had less than 2 lbs. or pork loin to work with. Personally, I would go easy on the caraway seeds because they do have a strong flavor. If you really enjoy rye bread, than you won't mind their strong flavor. I only used 1/2 of an apple thinly sliced because I was a bit nervous about adding apples. But, they tasted great! I even let the roast get to 170 degrees and it still turned out really moist and pull-apart tender. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJo
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was wonderful! Caraway was exactly what I was missing! I did add a cut up apple, a quartered onion, some brown sugar, and some apple juice to the sauerkraut to make it more palatable for my kids, but I loved it as written too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Left in for almost 36 hours! The longer you cook this the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matrix0507

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
As a college kid who spent the holidays away from home, it was important for me to still have my pork and sauerkraut for New Years and share it with my friends. This recipe was perfect for a first-timer like me. I actually let the pork cook in the slow-cooker all night with Martinelli's sparkling apple cider (sooo perfect). I added the rest of the ingredients in the morning and let it cook eight more hours. All of my friends, including the skeptics, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very good recipe. My pork was a little dry by itself, but when paired with a bite of sauerkraut it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife892

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I adjusted the recipe the recipe by cooking it in 1/2 a bottle of beer and adding 2 Tbsp. of brown sugar to the sauerkraut. We also cooked it on low for about 11 hours. The kraut was tasty, but our pork was on the dried out side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I am from berks county Pa and pork and kraut are a must on new years day, this was such a perfect recipe and simple to make, only thing i would change is not so much caraway seed. takes the taste away from the kraut. I also added half of a bottle of smithwicks irish ale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Great recipe. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Add a little brown sugar to the recipe and serve with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Made this for New Year's Day dinner... amazing flavor! I ended up using 2 cans of beer along with the sauerkraut and juices. Thank you so much for the dumpling idea! Amazing taste, amazing meal! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States