Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Left in for almost 36 hours! The longer you cook this the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matrix0507

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
As a college kid who spent the holidays away from home, it was important for me to still have my pork and sauerkraut for New Years and share it with my friends. This recipe was perfect for a first-timer like me. I actually let the pork cook in the slow-cooker all night with Martinelli's sparkling apple cider (sooo perfect). I added the rest of the ingredients in the morning and let it cook eight more hours. All of my friends, including the skeptics, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very good recipe. My pork was a little dry by itself, but when paired with a bite of sauerkraut it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife892

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I adjusted the recipe the recipe by cooking it in 1/2 a bottle of beer and adding 2 Tbsp. of brown sugar to the sauerkraut. We also cooked it on low for about 11 hours. The kraut was tasty, but our pork was on the dried out side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I am from berks county Pa and pork and kraut are a must on new years day, this was such a perfect recipe and simple to make, only thing i would change is not so much caraway seed. takes the taste away from the kraut. I also added half of a bottle of smithwicks irish ale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Great recipe. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Add a little brown sugar to the recipe and serve with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Made this for New Year's Day dinner... amazing flavor! I ended up using 2 cans of beer along with the sauerkraut and juices. Thank you so much for the dumpling idea! Amazing taste, amazing meal! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Perfection. I did two batches exactly as directed and one batch with added apple and brown sugar...then I combined all three batches for serving. Pork was falling apart and the flavors were excellent. I can't wait to go back for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
An unlikely combination that works. I don't LOVE the taste of caraway seeds or saurkraut but it all came together nicely for something a little different. Followed the suggestions of others: added 1/2 can of beer, used an apple corer/slicer on 2 apples and placed the wedges all around the pork, added 2 Tbsp brown sugar (sprinkled some on top and some on the apples). I used Rome apples since I wanted something not so tart and the flavor was very mild, maybe too mild, but still good. I also seasoned the pork with s&p and browned it first, but that's only because I think the coloring is more appetizing. I used a 3lb roast, cooked it for 4 hours on high and then turned it to low while I got the side dishes ready, probably another 45 min. It fell apart and was moist. Definitely serve with applesauce! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States