Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I took the advice of other reviewers and added more sauerkraut and a sliced up apple. Will definitely make again, but will wait until an hour before it's ready to add in the apple. I added my apple three hours into the cooking time, as suggested, and my apples were mush. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
My family loves this! Super quick & easy, but you better love sauerkraut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
My PA Dutch family has eaten pork and sauerkraut every New Year's for generations. Once you try this recipe, you'll never do it any other way. Perfectly easy, unbelievably delicious. My family likes a little more sauerkraut, so I use two cans per pork loin. I also substituted Libby's Bavarian Sauerkraut. It's milder and sweeter and already has the caraway in it. A huge hit with these pork and kraut connoisseurs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This is not a recipe that I would usually make...It just sounded different so I tried it...It is fantastic, not the best recipe to look at but if you can get by the drab appearence, the flavor is out of this world..the only thing I did different was I got lazy and added four cleaned hardball size red potatoes and let them cook in the beer and oh were they good, cut up with a little butter and some of the juice on them. This is a great recipe. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKER04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was so much better than expected!! I used just a 2 lb pork loin (there are only 2 of us) but left the amount of sauerkraut the same. I also added two Granny smith apple and two TBSP of Brown Sugar. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
We love sauerkraut but we did not like this at all. The taste of the sauerkraut overpowered the taste of the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
usually no leftovers, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Made this for dinner tonight - it was great!! Used 3.5 lbs boneless pork ribs from Costco, a 32 oz bag of Hebrew National sauerkraut, 4Tbs of brown sugar, 2 red apples, and a can of Molson's beer. I did not brown the pork, just salted it and put it into the slow cooker. Did not rinse or drain the SK. Did not add caraway seeds; don't like them. Peeled and cored the apples. Put everything into the crockpot and cooked according to the directions, approx. 7 hours total. The meat was fantastic and so tender! The flavor was great! Next time I will add a couple more apples for a total of 4 (only change I would make when making it again). Served with boiled, cubed potatoes and applesauce! It was great and oh, so easy! Made enough for 4 hearty servings with enough leftovers for another meal for 2. It was delicious!! The applesauce and potatoes are a must with this meal IMHO. Loved the combination of flavors and it wasn't bitter at all, and not too sweet, just right with lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
My husband said this was "superb!" He said he wouldn't mind eating this once a week! I followed some of the advice - adding brown sugar and some apple slices. I had to scale everything down a bit because I only had less than 2 lbs. or pork loin to work with. Personally, I would go easy on the caraway seeds because they do have a strong flavor. If you really enjoy rye bread, than you won't mind their strong flavor. I only used 1/2 of an apple thinly sliced because I was a bit nervous about adding apples. But, they tasted great! I even let the roast get to 170 degrees and it still turned out really moist and pull-apart tender. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJo
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was wonderful! Caraway was exactly what I was missing! I did add a cut up apple, a quartered onion, some brown sugar, and some apple juice to the sauerkraut to make it more palatable for my kids, but I loved it as written too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States