Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Knowing my familys' preferences, i added brown sugar, twice the amt of caraway seeds and pepper, added a chopped onion. Served with applesauce, roasted spuds and Lima beans. This was so good, even _i_ went back for seconds and i rarely have seconds! Thanks, Kathie, for the inspiration for an amazing dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Absolutely Perfect! I got lucky and found an untrimmed, bone-in pork loin. They’re getting harder to find as today’s meat is arriving to the store already pre-cut, without the bone, and the fat trimmed away. I like about 1/2" layer of fat covering the entire top of the roast. It is absolutely necessary because it’s the fat from the pork that mellows the sauerkraut and gives it a natural sweet flavor. You know, the old fashioned flavor just like grandma’s. That fat is also going to help keep the roast moist while cooking. When finished, you can trim away the fat and drain the sauerkraut. Also, a big “no, no” is to over cook a loin roast. They get can get very dry if over cooked and you really have to keep an eye on them, especially with the new crock pots. My crock pot had this done in 3hrs and the meat was pulling away from the bone. I knew I shouldn’t have started it on high for the first hour, but did anyway. Some of the meat was already starting to get dry so I cut it into pieces and let it soak in the juice. It was fine by dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is beyond easy and was a big success. I am a vegetarian, but this reminded me of New Year's Day growing up in PA. Served with mashed potatoes and it was so tender I could even slice the bone! I did one hour on high and 6 or so on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggiebee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Great recipe. Just like my Mom use to make omitting the caraway & adding cubed potatoes to the crock. Love the flavor of the sauerkraut. Better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Disappointing recipe. Both my husband and I like pork and sauerkraut. Followed the recipe just as written. Found this to be very bland despite the caraway seeds and sauerkraut. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Excellent. The caraway seeds are a nice extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Definitely would be plain as written. I followed others suggestions and added 2 T brown sugar and a couple red apples. I also added a yellow onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was really good. And EASY! I used two 32 oz bags of sauerkraut and that seemed like a good ratio to pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Yum, yum yum. I love this recipe and all of its variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States