Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I went looking for a recipe for pork and sauerkraut to see if I was missing any ingrediants in my recipe that I've been making on New Years Day every year for 25 years. Well, here is my recipe! The only changes I make personally is that I start the stuff on New Years Eve before we go to bed and let it cook all night and all day before we eat it. I add brown sugar to take the bite away from the kraut (about 2 tablespoons). The longer it cooks, the better. It gets nice and browned and my family loves this once a year treat. We serve with mashed potatoes and applesauce and dinner rolls. This is THE lucky New Years Day dish to be served for good fortune. Even better reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Delicious!! I took the advice of others and added a Granny Smith apple and 1/2 can of beer. Very tender and moist. Will be making this again today for our good luck New Year's Day dinner! Thanks for the recipe Kathie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I loved this, so simple and turned out so delicious. I used a very cheap cut pork roast too. I used a few more caraway seeds and next time I'll add more sauerkraut because it was so yummy. I'll making this next for New Year's Day, need all the good luck I can get!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
i put a few sliced apples in the bottom of the crock pot & could have done more than the 2, threw in some dried cranberries at the end & thought it was wonderful. took some in to the women i work with & they were leary at first- til they took a taste. will do this often. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This was really delicious. My husband is not a fan of pork but he loved this meal. I added a beer and one granny smith apple as suggested by others. I served it with a side of mac and cheese and fresh broccoli. Really, very good and I'm pretty picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
I make this dish often for my family, but I add one 12oz. bottle of beer to the crock pot - it adds flavor and helps keep it tender & juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Pennsylvania Dutch Pork and Saurkraut is always good, weather you make it in the slow cooker or not. Cook it with apples (grany smith, gala, or pink lady) to take some of the Sour out of the saurkraut. Also, you might want to rinse the kraut befor useing it, to take a lot of the vinigar off of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
I got a Crock Pot for Christmas and this was my first try at a slow cooker meal. I loved it! I also added an apple and brown sugar. I only used a 3lb roast so I probably could have reduced the cooking time by about an hour. Thanks for a great first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Good recipe, I added two apples to cut down on the bitterness of the kraut, and browned the pork roast before putting it in the crock pot.Try toasting the caraway seeds,and then add for the last hour, this seems to bring out more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
My husband ate it while I was at a meeting, but I couldn't bring myself to try it. He didn't want it again so the dogs got to eat the rest. I was disappointed. It was dry and not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States