Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
i put a few sliced apples in the bottom of the crock pot & could have done more than the 2, threw in some dried cranberries at the end & thought it was wonderful. took some in to the women i work with & they were leary at first- til they took a taste. will do this often. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This was really delicious. My husband is not a fan of pork but he loved this meal. I added a beer and one granny smith apple as suggested by others. I served it with a side of mac and cheese and fresh broccoli. Really, very good and I'm pretty picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
I make this dish often for my family, but I add one 12oz. bottle of beer to the crock pot - it adds flavor and helps keep it tender & juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Pennsylvania Dutch Pork and Saurkraut is always good, weather you make it in the slow cooker or not. Cook it with apples (grany smith, gala, or pink lady) to take some of the Sour out of the saurkraut. Also, you might want to rinse the kraut befor useing it, to take a lot of the vinigar off of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
I got a Crock Pot for Christmas and this was my first try at a slow cooker meal. I loved it! I also added an apple and brown sugar. I only used a 3lb roast so I probably could have reduced the cooking time by about an hour. Thanks for a great first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Good recipe, I added two apples to cut down on the bitterness of the kraut, and browned the pork roast before putting it in the crock pot.Try toasting the caraway seeds,and then add for the last hour, this seems to bring out more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
My husband ate it while I was at a meeting, but I couldn't bring myself to try it. He didn't want it again so the dogs got to eat the rest. I was disappointed. It was dry and not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
What a delicious and easy meal. I left it in the crockpot longer since I was at work all day, and the pork got so tender it broke apart. I also threw in a couple bay leaves for added flavor. We had it with mashed potatoes on the side. This is a great cold weather meal but would also be good in the summer since it's so easy and doesn't heat up the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
this was great--very yummy--I prepared it in my crock pot-- a sure dish to make again---
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I followed the recipe, added 1/2 onion, another 1 c. sauerkraut, cooked it on high for 3.5 hrs...and served it with some seasoning salt & dijon mustard ....was TASTY... i loved it & so did my hubby. It has a mild flavor, so it might not suit you if you like zesty. But, still.. i really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States