Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I have made this several times now but do a few things differently. I usually brown some chopped proscuitto (or bacon) with onions in a fry pan (really let the onions brown!) and add that to the kraut. Also grate an apple and a potato into the kraut to thicken the kraut juice and temper the sour a bit. Throw it all in the crock pot and serve with mashed potatoes--YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This recipe is so good and so easy to make. The pork loin was moist too! I drained all the juice from the kraut and added a whole bottle of Coors Light Beer. I also added some brown sugar(2 Tablespoons) as some suggested. I like Caraway seed so I left that in the recipe. I served this incredible dish with mash potatoes. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I enjoyed eating it in 100 degree temp too!!!!! Can't wait until Fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Neither I, nor my boyfriend liked this. I added 1/2 a beer and some brown sugar, and although it was a good diet dinner, the leftovers rotted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORINALAND

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
My husband liked this a lot. I halved the recipe, added a granny smith apple, added hard cider (instead of beer) and did not halve the caraway seeds. I thought it was a little bland, but I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
we enjoyed the taste of caraway in this recipe. the 2 lb. boneless center cut roast i cooked came out tender but was on the dry side (what i had in my freezer, next time i'll stick with the recommended pork loin roast). thankfully the juicy sauerkraut helped to keep the meat moist while we ate. this kind of dish tastes better when made a day ahead & serves well with mashed potatoes. thanks kathie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I like using the crock pot about once a week, and this recipe was outstanding! I ate about 2 portions due to how much I enjoyed it. I did add brown sugar, beer, and Granny Smith Apples like other reviewers had mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Very moist and tasty. It just needed a little something extra. I'll try the apple next time. Did taste better the next day though. I'll definitely keep it around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This recipe is pretty good! The pork was moist and it pulled apart nicely. Like others I added 2 chopped granny smith apples (no sugar). I also added 1 12 oz can of coke. Next time I won't add salt to the meat as it was a tad too salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIN1YNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homebush Bay, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Good recipe, but I will add brown sugar next time to sweeten it up. I didn't particularly like the caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This was great. We're not even fans of sauerkraut, but the meat was soooo tender and delish! Seasoned the roast with seasoned salt and pepper and browned in a little olive oil first. Added an apple and brown sugar as per previous reviewers; also about 1/2 a white onion and some thyme leaves. Really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States