Slow Cooker Kielbasa Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Deceivingly delicious! Be sure to use kielbasa that is not precooked. I went with Kisslemans kraut because it expressly says on the package not to rinse. To keep it simple and quick remember this: Sausage and potatoes; one inch pieces. Apples and onion; half inch slices. Do everything else as suggested and you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I added some apple cider to the recipe because it didn't seem like there was enough liquid. I also didn't add the apples until the very end so they didn't disintigrate. Very tasty. The saurkraut, surprisingly, isn't overpowering at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buttakwup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
My husband and I didn't care for this, but ironically my 9-year-old daughter loved it. I did use fresh ingredients -- fresh kielbasa from the butcher rather than prepackaged (which I browned in a skillet before adding to slow cooker) and fresh cabbage. But I don't think that affected the overall taste enough to warrant changing my rating. I love German food, but I found the taste of this dish off-putting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILKBROWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I love sauerkraut and I love sausage. But this recipe just did not do anything for me. My husband and kids elected to snack on mac n cheese after dinner because they wouldn't eat much of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
We enjoyed this! I did rinse the sauerkraut before adding it so it didn't overwhelm the dish. Lots of flavor, might add more veggies next time like celery and carrots. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
We really didn't like this. I'm not sure if it was the sauerkraut (I usually like sauerkraut) but everything was sour. The kielbasa was tasty, the long cook time made it tender and juicy, but we ended up throwing it all away because the smell wasn't to our liking. I might try this again, using shredded cabbage with sugar and vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This is very good. It's now on my regular rotation of slow cooker recipes! I forgot to put on the swiss cheese at the end but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
this recipe was fine but probably won't make again. Couldn't taste the apple at all and I evan added a bit of cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I added 1/2 cup white wine, 1 bay leaf, and a little thyme. Also, I boiled everything except the meat on the stove top until the liquid was nearly gone, then added the Kielbasa, covered with a lid, and baked in the oven. I forgot to use the cheese, but it didn't matter. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Delicious. Hearty fare on a cold winter day. Yum. Easy slow cooker meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States