Slow Cooker Kielbasa Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Fantastic! Perfect for a cold autumn day! I made a few adjustments to simplify and suit my taste: Leave out the caraway seeds. (personal taste) Don't rinse the kraut. Keep all that great flavor! No need to spend time peeling the apples...the skins cook down and get nice and soft, blending in with the kraut. I decreased the potatoes, cut them into small chunks, and put them on the bottom. Also, I cooked the stew on LOW for about 7 hours and it was great. (Stir halfway through to insure even cooking.) We put swiss cheese on the first serving, but left it off after that. This dish can stand on its own! (and I put cheese on EVERYTHING!) Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
I thought that my husband had finally lost his mind after he mentioned that his Gram mixed kielbasa, sauerkraut, apples, and onion all together & that he actually liked it....so I looked for a recipe and here I am. This ROCKS! The only thing I did differently was to add babyback ribs to the concoction (it's how Gram did it). My husband is a HAPPY man & the kids and I loved it as well! Thanks Michele :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Added an extra layer of flavor by 1st gently sauteing onion & sauerkraut in a fry pan w/ a little margarine/butter for about 6 min, till both were a bit carmelized (my mom always "prepared" sauerkraut this way, even for hot dogs). Then add sauerkraut/onion mixture to the crock pot w/the remaining ingredients. Don't overcook, 1-2 hrs. are just fine for this dish, you don't need 4 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
My husband and I absolutely loved this dish!! We did not rinse the saurkraut because we really like the tartness and we added a little black pepper. I think next time I may add a cup of dark beer like Guiness in place of one of the cups of stock--I think this would be really good. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Good concept poor execution on my part. Loved the sausage could have added about 50% more. Used 2 lbs unpeeled baby red potatoes and layered on bottom as suggested...this worked great. Apple rings were a little hard to slice, would just cut chunks next time and probably add more apples too, wouldn't bother peeling next time. The apple flavor got lost with all the kraut and onion. I would add some apple cider to the broth next time or cut it maybe 50/50. This is a delicate recipe and is easy to over cook, which I did, so the apples dissappeared into mush. Would recommend adding the apples closer to the end next time to keep them crisp. Forgot to put the cheese on top -- I thought something was missing! I used Bavarian style kraut and it was certainly less pungent especially after rinsing... enough so that my picky kids ate a bowlful. Will try this one again making a few alterations. For me time listed is a definitely the maximum, this is more of a 1/2 day recipe than an all day recipe. Doesn't get better with extra cooking time. With more apple flavor and crisper veggies/fruit this could be 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
I never would have thought of combining all these foods, but yum! I will do a few things differently next time, though: I'll put the potatoes closer to the bottom so they all get done at the same time. Also, I'll put the meat closer to the top so it doesn't get quite as done. And I may use a little less liquid. NOTE: For those who are worried about a too-strong sauerkraut taste, use Frank's Bavarian kraut. It's milder and a bit sweeter than regular kraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This is really good! The kraut flavor is not too strong - just right. i also changed the order in which I layered the ingrediants in the slow cooker, putting the potatos on the bottom, 1/2 of the sausage next, then kraut, then the rest of the sausage, aplles, and then the onions. I also only used half of the potato called for. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
This is a phenomenal recipe! The previous reviews were very helpful - yes, Bavarian style sauerkraut has a nice mild flavor, and yes, you don't need to add all the potatoes. I made half a recipe becuase I did not want the two of us to be eating it for a week but it was so good that we made it again only a few days later. I did not even bother with the caraway seeds, the other ingredients are flavorful enough. I did not serve it with cheese because I didn't have any and it was wonderful anyway. We will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
We really loved this recipe. I used Bavarian Sauerkraut as suggested by another review and I loved the milder flavor with this dish. It allowed all the rest of the flavors to come through too. I used a blend of apples, because of what I had on hand, and liked the sweet and tart flavors that that added. I did have to cook it a lot longer to have the potatoes cook through, even though I made sure they were on the bottom of the cooker. Will definately make again and I have already shared this recipe with friends. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
Doesn't look very good when cooked all day, but was quite tasty. I added a little bit of brown sugar to keep the sauerkraut from being so sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States