Slow Cooker Kielbasa Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Added an extra layer of flavor by 1st gently sauteing onion & sauerkraut in a fry pan w/ a little margarine/butter for about 6 min, till both were a bit carmelized (my mom always "prepared" sauerkraut this way, even for hot dogs). Then add sauerkraut/onion mixture to the crock pot w/the remaining ingredients. Don't overcook, 1-2 hrs. are just fine for this dish, you don't need 4 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
This stew went like wild fire one very cold day, just before Christmas while vacationing at a ski resort. 14 Adults and 6 Children polished it off in less than an hour, and left me with nothing but the crock pot to bring home (and of course a mental note to make this a regular). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I made it as a casserole since I haven't got a slow cooker & topped it with Monterray Jack cheese & it was great & easy! Not the boring old kielbassa & kraut my husband asks for - this time we both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
We loved this- pretty easy to make and turned out so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
I never would have thought of combining all these foods, but yum! I will do a few things differently next time, though: I'll put the potatoes closer to the bottom so they all get done at the same time. Also, I'll put the meat closer to the top so it doesn't get quite as done. And I may use a little less liquid. NOTE: For those who are worried about a too-strong sauerkraut taste, use Frank's Bavarian kraut. It's milder and a bit sweeter than regular kraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Great recipe! I halved the recipe and made it for New Years Day. My only suggestion is not to use "spicy" meat. We made this using Hilshire Farms jalepeno smoked sausage which made the entire dish really spicy which was a bit hard on the mouth after a while. But the tastes worked very well together, despite the strange combination of ingredients. My husband gobbled it up and I plan on making some to take to my parents in a few weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
I thought that my husband had finally lost his mind after he mentioned that his Gram mixed kielbasa, sauerkraut, apples, and onion all together & that he actually liked it....so I looked for a recipe and here I am. This ROCKS! The only thing I did differently was to add babyback ribs to the concoction (it's how Gram did it). My husband is a HAPPY man & the kids and I loved it as well! Thanks Michele :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
I was intrigued by the mix of ingredients. I mean, really...apples with sauerkraut? Yet, it appealed to me. It was so easy to put together. I can honestly say, it was a treat to me. The apple just took the bite out of the sauerkraut and onions. The mixture was very pleasing. I will definitely make it again. It does take a little nerve for some people to try it if they know what's in it...I wouldn't tell them til they taste it. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
My family didn't like this one. Personally I thought it was good, but I guess I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
Doesn't look very good when cooked all day, but was quite tasty. I added a little bit of brown sugar to keep the sauerkraut from being so sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States