Slow Cooker Kielbasa Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I loved this recipe although I would have to agree with one of the other reviewers that there were just a few too many potatoes. Also, the potatoes need to go on the bottom or somewhere else besides the top. Otherwise, this was great and I'm sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This was just fantastic! I am of Polish decent, and couldn't wait to try this. I'm so glad I did. I made a few substitutions though. I had no apples in the house, and decided to try unsweetened pineapple chunks instead. They really complimented the dish. I rinsed and drained the sauerkrout because my boyfriend hadn't eaten any since childhood. Instead of all chicken broth, I added the juice (about 2 tblspns)from the canned pineapple to offset the sauerkrout taste. I also added 2 oz. of mushrooms because I needed to use them up. Since I had no caraway seeds, I went with some fennel seeds. I put fresh ground black pepper over everything too. The end result had my boyfriend raving and saying he would eat sauerkrout, and this dish, anytime! Thank you Michele for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElvisInFlorida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dudley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
great recipe my family loved it except next time i will decrease the amount of potatoes that were used as my family thought there were too many
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
This was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
We liked this for dinner, but didn't love it. Maybe it was because the recipe called for rinsing the sauerkraut before cooking--and we all like that potent sauerkraut taste! Maybe next time I will skip the "rinse".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
We really loved this recipe. I used Bavarian Sauerkraut as suggested by another review and I loved the milder flavor with this dish. It allowed all the rest of the flavors to come through too. I used a blend of apples, because of what I had on hand, and liked the sweet and tart flavors that that added. I did have to cook it a lot longer to have the potatoes cook through, even though I made sure they were on the bottom of the cooker. Will definately make again and I have already shared this recipe with friends. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
This was just okay. I've never eaten Kielbasa stew, so I don't know how this compares to others. It sounded like a fun recipe to try. It was pretty easy and we liked it well enough. The sausage was very tasty and even my husband who hates sauerkraut thought it was okay. However, I did alter the order in the crock pot by putting the potatoes on the bottom so they'd actually cook. Considering the meat was already cooked I didn't think they should go in the hottest part of the pot. The only thing was, I discovered I absolutely positively HATE caraway seed. It left an unpleasant aftertaste that almost ruined it for me entirely. Next time I make this I'll leave that out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Good recipe and flavor, I just found the apple reparation a little time consuming. Also next time I'll probably 1/2 the recipe as this yeilded far too much for 2 people and didn't reheat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEASTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
A great change from plain old kielbasa & kraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
I took this to a church soup dinner and everyone seemed to like it - but it got no "RAVES". I thought it was very good very flavorful. I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States