Slow Cooker Kielbasa Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
My husband really enjoyed this-- except the apples. He couldn't get past the thought of them being with the kraut. I liked it too. I rinsed the kraut because we don't eat it too often and I wasn't sure how sour we would like it. But we could definitely do more sour so next time I wont rinse. The only other change I would make is less apples since I'm the only one eating them (see above ;). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This recipe was OK. I was excited to try the combination of flavors (i.e. sausage, kraut, potatoes, apples and onion - all favorites of mine). I was disappointed with the results, however. I made this for my parents, and they seemed to like it. No one raved over it though. This was very easy to make (just dump all of the ingredients in a slow-cooker and forget about it!). Be sure to keep an eye on the potatoes.... Some of mine turned brown (not all of them, but the ones on top did). I make a similar recipe without the potatoes, broth and onions (mine is made with sausage, apples, kraut, caraway seeds, apple juice and brown sugar) and like it much better. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
My wife does not particularly like kielbasa, but loves this meal. She does not love to cook, but she now makes this since it's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I chose not to rinse the kraut, and I liked the apples. I'd nix the potatoes, as they didn't cook in the crock-pot anyways, even after all night and half of Thanksgiving day. Nice change of pace, but I can honestly say once a year is enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This came out awful! When I tried to place everything in the crock pot, the quantity was too much. I had to remove some of the potatoes (which I reduced to 1/2 lb to begin with) and some of the sausage to close the lid. Once it cooked on low all day, it was a sloppy mess! You couldn't tell whether you were eating sauerkraut, potatoes, or apples. We wound up pitching whatever was left. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UPITTWOMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dunmore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
SO GOOD! A great change from normal stews and very filling. I used turkey sausage (lower fat) and it was fantastic. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I thought this recipe was really good, and I'm not a huge sauerkraut fan. I used regular potatoes and put them on the bottom as someone earlier suggested and everything meshed together really well. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Fantastic! Perfect for a cold autumn day! I made a few adjustments to simplify and suit my taste: Leave out the caraway seeds. (personal taste) Don't rinse the kraut. Keep all that great flavor! No need to spend time peeling the apples...the skins cook down and get nice and soft, blending in with the kraut. I decreased the potatoes, cut them into small chunks, and put them on the bottom. Also, I cooked the stew on LOW for about 7 hours and it was great. (Stir halfway through to insure even cooking.) We put swiss cheese on the first serving, but left it off after that. This dish can stand on its own! (and I put cheese on EVERYTHING!) Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Super easy, loved it! I added corn, cumin and cayanne for more flavor and spice, turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
This is a phenomenal recipe! The previous reviews were very helpful - yes, Bavarian style sauerkraut has a nice mild flavor, and yes, you don't need to add all the potatoes. I made half a recipe becuase I did not want the two of us to be eating it for a week but it was so good that we made it again only a few days later. I did not even bother with the caraway seeds, the other ingredients are flavorful enough. I did not serve it with cheese because I didn't have any and it was wonderful anyway. We will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States